Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    it's getting worse.

    This is a discussion on it's getting worse. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Our connection is getting worse, and the router is now constantly needing rebooted as the internet light is always going ...

    1. #1
      Ryan1992's Avatar
      Ryan1992 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wishaw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      542
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      it's getting worse.

      Our connection is getting worse, and the router is now constantly needing rebooted as the internet light is always going out.

      Anyway, here is my stats, which I am sure you agree, are not up to the MAX standard :



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 10.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: it's getting worse.

      Quote Originally Posted by Ryan1992 View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 10.0 db
      Compare the 2 figures I've highlighted above with the table in this :-
      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained
      As you can see your sync is not miles away from what it should be for the line attenuation.
      The speed test however shows a different story, and they are on a whole unreliable.
      Are you connected to the router via wireless ?
      PS - you have a V1 router so should be able to post complete router stats which may give a better picture.
      Last edited by dholdi; 13-10-08 at 10:57 PM.


    4. #3
      Ryan1992's Avatar
      Ryan1992 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wishaw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      542
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: it's getting worse.

      yeah, im connected wireless... although I am sitting right above the router, and also tried wired, with no real improvement

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: it's getting worse.

      Wired wont improve the router stats but you should see an improvement on the speedtest.


    6. #5
      Ryan1992's Avatar
      Ryan1992 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wishaw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      542
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: it's getting worse.

      Another problem is, our internet light regularly goes off, requiring the router to be reboot. Sometimes it is required to do this 6 or 7 times an hour, and sometimes in the space of 5-10 minutes.

      We initially contacted Sky about this incident, and they emailled us telling us that our line had been reconfigured, and to monitor the connection for 72hrs.

      It was fine for about 6 days, to which it got worse again, and we've emaileld Sky a few times since then, to which there is now no reply whatsoever.... time to phone very soon I think

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: it's getting worse.

      no point emailing...the issue gets lost in translation...

      best to call and get onto CST and then they can play about with things with you there...i assume your in your master/test socket at present?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Ryan1992's Avatar
      Ryan1992 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wishaw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      542
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: it's getting worse.

      to be honest.... we really dont know which is the master socket, as the first socket from where the line comes in is actually never been in use, and no where near a plug socket, so we use the next line.

      Also, we are not too confident in taking off the front covers of the lines e.t.c

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: it's getting worse.

      then chances are the issue is the wiring in your house...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Ryan1992's Avatar
      Ryan1992 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wishaw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      542
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: it's getting worse.

      would that account for the internet light constantly going off?

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: it's getting worse.

      it can, yes...trying your test socket (assuming you have one) would confirm this...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION