Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 45

    Not sure what to do?

    This is a discussion on Not sure what to do? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is it safe to leave a router plugged in and switched on 24/7? or could it set fire...

    1. #21
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do?

      Is it safe to leave a router plugged in and switched on 24/7? or could it set fire


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do?

      Most routers are designed to be left on 24/7 - hence why few have on/off switches. However, they do, like any other electrical item, need adequate ventilation and must not be covered with anything which would cause overheating.
      Last edited by Saturday; 13-10-08 at 03:58 PM.

    4. #23
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do?

      Small update, the net was terrible today, and the phone static was worse than its ever been, I have not tampered with much, just took faceplate off a couple of times, so no idea why the connection has deterorated??

      Today enough was enough, I took the whole router and cables downstairs and hooked upto the master socket, I got 5 solid hours of perfect connection, but my phone line was still a little crackly, after 5 hours in the middle of a xbox live game it cut off (I was winning aswell, typical)

      I have now removed the old faceplate with extensions wired to it, and have plugged the microfilter directly into the test socket behind the faceplate, into this filter I have the router, and my home phone. So far the line is crystal clear, no crackling whatsoever, plus this is a good sign as BT said my line was clean (not that means much but hey). My net has been on for only an hour though, but so far no connection loss. I will monitor tonight and through the week till this new plate comes, and see whats happened by then. If the router disconnects again directly in the test socket, what are my option?

      I am no genius but I know that it would rule out the cabling in my home right? so whats left? broken router? problem at Sky Broadbands end? or problem with line? even though the line is clean and clear? what else could it be or are these 3 the only things it COULD be through test socket?

      anyways, ill leave you guys with that, while I go monitor my "working for now" internet.

    5. #24
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do?

      you have just proved that it is your internal cabling.

      I've explained it a number of times, but when you use the TEST socket or an ADSLNation faceplate, you are bypassing your extension cabling that is causing interference.

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do?

      I think you will find that your problems are with your internal wiring. The phone difficulties you have had are probably due to you disturbing the connections at the back of the faceplate. Have you actually taken stats from the test socket with nothing else connected except the router?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do?

      Extension stats

      System Up Time 00:08:24
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1502 1898 0 771 6314 00:04:37
      LAN 10M/100M 2637 2066 0 4165 647 00:08:21
      WLAN 11M/54M 530 605 0 341 113 00:08:13

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 12.7 db 15.0 db

      Test Socket stats


      System Up Time 05:45:51
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 201924 235165 0 1533 3272 02:40:03
      LAN 10M/100M 343677 319366 0 3316 3717 05:45:48
      WLAN 11M/54M 7351 5328 0 298 44 05:45:40

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4064 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 19.9 db 15.0 db



      Both sets of stats have phone plugged in aswell, and the laptop switched on wirelessly (but inactive)


      When the net went off, the green "I" flickered then went stationary, it then turns orange and stays stationary orange for about 20 seconds then it went green again
      Last edited by evokazz; 13-10-08 at 11:14 PM.

    8. #27
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do?

      yep the test stats show a massive increase in the Noise Margin.

      I will say it once more, the extension wiring is causing interference. You need to get an adslnation faceplate and relocate the router to the master socket.

    9. #28
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do?

      Faceplate was dispatched today (the one you linked me to) so it should be here soon

    10. #29
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do?

      Yeah its directly in the test socket now, seems ok for now, the cut off last time was in the master socket, but the front end, not the test socket behind it, so im wondering if the faceplate or wiring on extension is killing it like u say, but its been fine for months why now? weird

    11. #30
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do?

      why when you have had a car from brand new and it's been fine for years does it suddenly fail its MOT?????????

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION