Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Losing patience

    This is a discussion on Losing patience within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Recently I started a thread about my new router getting crap speed and that was resolved (was put on test ...

    1. #1
      Squaddie's Avatar
      Squaddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitchurch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Losing patience

      Recently I started a thread about my new router getting crap speed and that was resolved (was put on test speed after they had been testing and they put it back up) so all fine there.

      However, since then I have been getting consistent connection losses after 8pm. Almost on the dot the connection will drop, and I have to reboot the connection. This happens at random times throughout the night, and considering I work for a website writing news, this is highly frustrating.

      I've also noticed that on one of our phones there is bad static on the line.

      Now I've had enough of Sky Tech support. Every time I ring up I have to go through the same *removed* checks which take half an hour and nothing changes.

      I've tried turning UPNP off and that hasn't worked. I've tried rebooting the router every time the Noise Margin drops below 6.5 (and believe me I tried it for about 3 hours one evening) and that hasn't worked. (Noise Margin stays below 6.5 constantly.

      I had this problem before with my old router, and Sky were never able to fix it. However after a few months it stopped happening and we were fine. It wasn't until that router went pop that we had this new one.

      My stats at the time of this message are

      Connection Speed 4448 kbps 96 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42 db 11.5 db
      Noise Margin 4 db 6 db
      I'm aware of the low noise margin but i cannot increase it.

      Is there anything I can do? Like I said, I've tried and failed with Tech support. Would a new router do the trick?

      Sorry for the rant, but I really am sick to death of this.
      Last edited by reddwarfcrew; 12-10-08 at 07:20 PM. Reason: removed minor swear word


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Losing patience

      it looks like you have answered your own question.

      Quote Originally Posted by Squaddie View Post
      I've also noticed that on one of our phones there is bad static on the line.

      You need to get onto your line provider (I assume BT) to come and fix your line. Report it as a voice fault as opposed to broadband fault.

      If there is a fault on your line, then sky cannot do anything for you (unless of course you have switch your phone line rental to sky as well).

    4. #3
      Squaddie's Avatar
      Squaddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitchurch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing patience

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      it looks like you have answered your own question..
      That stops when the router is off. Also, the other phone we have (which uses the same number) doesn't have this issue.

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Losing patience

      Have you got micro filters on EVERY socket that has a phone/sky box/fax etc etc plugged in?

    6. #5
      Squaddie's Avatar
      Squaddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitchurch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing patience

      Yep. I'm using the exact same set up that saw me on a stable connection with no trouble for the past 6 months. I've swapped all the micro filters around, and tried new ones and old ones and still the same.

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Losing patience

      ok, have you tried connecting the router to the TEST socket underneath the master socket faceplate (unscrew and remove the faceplate).

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Losing patience

      Do the following.

      (1) connect router and a phone to the test socket.

      (2) leave router off and check that line is noise free (dial a single digit and listern, you should hear just a low hiss)

      (3) switch router on and repeat the last test, if the line is now noisy, and it is the same with a replacement filter, then report this to sky, who will need to get an Openreach tech out to you.

      I suspect this fault has always been there (it's likely to be a high resistance joint) an is intermittant in nature.

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Losing patience

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      , then report this to sky, who will need to get an Openreach tech out to you.
      report to Sky?

    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Losing patience

      Yes because if the line is o.k untill the router is on, BT will not be interested, the openreach guy will need to come through ISP

    11. #10
      mrmagoomc4's Avatar
      mrmagoomc4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01333
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing patience

      im new too this site and just read your prob mine was a case where i had too lift the phone too get internet access at times as i could clearly here the signal coming through also lifting the reciever would kill the connection too so it was an obvious fault on the line that sky or bt wouldnt accept so i phoned sky quite alot explained my prob and eventually sky got a bt engineer too fix the prob of which sky paid the bill for so all i can say is sky will sort it out if you have a line fault i told them im not happy with the service and want something done about my intermitent prob over lasy year n half etc once they have done the ussual avenues it comes down too a line fault ask them what there prepared too do about it as you are paying them money for a service your not recieving.
      alternately you can phone bt and say you have a line fault you want repairing which is what you pay line rental for

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION