Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Mid to base & back again.

    This is a discussion on Mid to base & back again. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I was on sky Mid & decided as I was getting sub 2mb at peak times I would drop ...

    1. #1
      halo1234's Avatar
      halo1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01623
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Mid to base & back again.

      Hi, I was on sky Mid & decided as I was getting sub 2mb at peak times I would drop to base & save some money. I found as you probably already know that I was getting around 1mb at peak on base. So the following day I asked to be put back onto mid. Now after a few days I'm still getting less than 2mb now at anytime. I've spoken to sky & I've got up to the point where the issued a ticket. I've tried the master BT socket & I've looked around & I should be getting closer to 3-4mb. I've got filters on all the sockets used in the house & tried it with everything else unplugged. I ran out of time with sky last night, so I'll be calling them again tonight.

      Anything else I need to do or look at?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2080 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.8 db 13.0 db

      Just out of interest I have the netgear router & my frmware is V1.03.87. This appears to be the latest version. Is this correct?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Mid to base & back again.

      Have you got a test socket? If you do then that would be where to test from. By the way, your router is synced at around 2Mb.

    4. #3
      halo1234's Avatar
      halo1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01623
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mid to base & back again.

      Yes I've tried the test socket. So why would my modem be sycing at 2mb, when prior to chaning to base I was much higher at off peep times & sky have confimed that I'm back on the mid package again.

      Thanks

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Mid to base & back again.

      you are syncing with a noise margn of 11.8db which is why your sync is so low.

      Sky may well have capped you when they moved you back so you need sky to remove any cap.

    6. #5
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mid to base & back again.

      There is a cap there, Also what are the stats in the test socket.

    7. #6
      halo1234's Avatar
      halo1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01623
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Mid to base & back again.

      Spent a while talking to support tonight & tbh they were quite helpful. The down side however is that the speeds I've currently got is the norm for my location. I didn't know unitl tonight that i'm 3.5km from the exchange. I assume it was less because by road it's more like 1.5km. Either way something has changed as I was gettinig much higher speeds before, but it looks like I'm stuck with what I've got. Annoying really as it's my fault for messing with my account in the 1st place.

      The test socket gave marginally better results.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION