Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    chap authentication failed....

    This is a discussion on chap authentication failed.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This morning I had no connection to the net. Its synce to dsl and at a pretty good speed (for ...

    1. #1
      xyleneuk's Avatar
      xyleneuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STAINES
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Laleham Middx
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down chap authentication failed....

      This morning I had no connection to the net.
      Its synce to dsl and at a pretty good speed (for me)
      looking at the logs it says chap authentication failed.
      Now I admin I have been using my own speedtouch router forover a year now flawlesly.

      Decied to call support.
      yes I admit not using my own router, but the issue is user / password related, please can you check.
      NO...MUST USE SKY ROUTER.

      So spend all day getting the sky router and installing it.
      connect it up...same issue....

      Call support, first line..please run sky test...error 200
      ah ys its a line fault......
      How can it be a line fault, I am on the phone to you and the dsl is synced...the error is a chap autentication error.

      OK gt to second line
      yes its an ip error due to an issue on the ashford exchange.
      please explain how I am connected to dsl 7000 down 768 up and in the log file which is talking to the authentication and reporting the error.

      please wait 2 hours and try again....

      OK can I speak to you manager?

      sure he says its an exchange issu, nothing we can do

      Pleasde can I talk to him

      on hold 7 more minutes

      we cant deal with this you need to speak to customer service

      no I wanted to speak to your manager
      ok ok sir

      on hold more time again 7 minutes ish..

      line starts to go to the recorded messages...ring ring
      hello customer services how can I help?

      are you a manager in the support team?

      erm no, can I assist
      I explain the above story, he says he can not help, he will not look at my case notes and help train the people I have spoken to so far.

      Transfers me back to technical....and they say hello ??? hello>>>> suddenly they can not hear me and promptly hang up on me,

      Now I am very frustrated having spent a very long time on the phone and not had my issue resolved.

      Can anyone tll em why I am getting a chap auth error, I cant see how this is an exchange issue?

      Help

      Xyleneuk


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      re: chap authentication failed....

      If you are on LWASH - ASHFORD, there is / was definitely a fault / issue either at the exchange or to do with something within the exchange.

      There is nothing you can do until this is resolved. Save yourself the time and expense of ringing Sky, as they are not based in the exchange and so won't be able to rectify it.

      (Thanks for the PM confirming these details)
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 11-10-08 at 11:00 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      xyleneuk's Avatar
      xyleneuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STAINES
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Laleham Middx
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: chap authentication failed....

      ok but I am snyked up. the error i see is chap authentication.
      surly this means its past the exchange and is talking to RADIUS or whateve authentication servers they use now?

      Thanks

      Xyleneuk

    5. #4
      xyleneuk's Avatar
      xyleneuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STAINES
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Laleham Middx
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: chap authentication failed....

      yes ashford middx in da staines ...ug.....

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: chap authentication failed....

      No idea, the fact that you are having issues, and if its the same exchange, is too much of a coincidence. It would lead me to think that the problem is at the exchange or a consequence of, as there is a reported issue at LWASH - ASHFORD.

      Hopefully it will be sorted soon for you.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      xyleneuk's Avatar
      xyleneuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STAINES
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Laleham Middx
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: chap authentication failed....

      Results for exchange: Ashford
      Congestion
      Congestion status on this exchange is GREEN.

      Your telephone line is on an un-congested exchange.

      Major Service Outages
      There are no Major Service Outages on your line at this present time

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: chap authentication failed....

      If you are on Max, as per your profile, those results are irrelevant, you are not on BT's network.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: chap authentication failed....

      Up to a certain time last night the fault wasn't showing on the exchange outage page that is in use, due to that the agent would have guessed what the issue was from the error message. CST can see further info and would have known about the issue on the exchange before it was made known to the tier 1 group. Asking for a manager will get you no other information apart from that and if the tier 1 completed the TS and gave you the information that was stated then more often than not the manager will not take the call as there is no need.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: chap authentication failed....

      OR your router is suspended...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      xyleneuk's Avatar
      xyleneuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STAINES
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Laleham Middx
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: chap authentication failed....

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      OR your router is suspended...
      woukd they not have told me that>?

      also would it happen on both the sky router and the speedtouch one?

      Any news on the progress as I am still down.

      I presume its a LLU issue aND NOT AN exchange as such issue as they guy over the road on BT is up and running.

      Thanks

      James.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION