Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Are my stats any good?

    This is a discussion on Are my stats any good? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i am on the max package and am running the wireless connection - i have changed the router setting from ...

    1. #1
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Are my stats any good?

      i am on the max package and am running the wireless connection - i have changed the router setting from g&b to auto 108.

      the result of speedtests are not impressive - i usually get on average 0.5 - 0.7 mb.

      This was the result of my speed test taken round the same time i took the stats:



      i am not a very techincal person and dont really understand noise margins & snr.

      So i would be grateful if you could tell me if my stats any good or what i should do to improve them?



      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Your connection is good (about 11.5Mb), your noise margin is fine, your speedtest isn't.

      The speedtest is just as likely due to overloading of the speedtest server as it is a problem with your connection (not sure why you chose Amsterdam). The best way to test your speed would be via an ftp site. Otherwise try here. Chose the "large download" and see what the progress bar tells you. Despite being for the BT network it gives pretty accurate results - not at busy times of the day though. However, if you get low download speeds at all times of day then something is wrong.

      You should also optimise your connection settings on your computer. A good tool is TCP optimizer.

      Could you improve things further? Your attenuation is on the high side but still quite good. Getting a filtered faceplate might add a meg to your connection but this wouldn't necessarily translate to higher download speeds.

      Many people would be very happy with your connection.
      Last edited by Saturday; 23-09-06 at 11:07 AM.

    4. #3
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i started off at 700 kb/s but went down to 120kb/s from around 30% onwards.

      My average speed once complete was 112 kb/s which is poor.

      i tried the tci optimizer already but it made no difference.

      i also lose connection after 2-3 hours and have to reboot router from mains before i can get on net. Although i can still get into the router settings page on ocassions when it is down.

      Should i be ringing up sky?

    5. #4
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      are you able to try the test from a wired connection, just to see if it the wireless which is slow or not.

    6. #5
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      no my pc is too far away from my main socket

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Yes you might need to call Sky but before you do that check out your wireless connection as that might be the problem. At the very least set wireless to 108 auto in your router then reboot.

    8. #7
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i already have set it to auto 108

    9. #8
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i have called up technical support and i am waiting for tier 3 to get back to me.

      So fingers crossed my line speed will increase and i wont keep on losing connection every 2-3 hours.

    10. #9
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thats not good at all but then I don't trust that site it gives far to many false readings. I prefer this one http://www.speedtest.bbmax.co.uk/

      I find it a lot more accurate when I need a rough idea how the connection is doing but a good ftp site is the best indicator for a more accurate speed test try this one

      ftp://ftp.mirror.ac.uk/edunfs/mirror...4-bootonly.iso

      25MB file

      See how they pan out for you
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #10
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      both test gave bad results

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION