Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Connect

    This is a discussion on Connect within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi A couple of days ago my Sky Connect broadband was activated. I was previously on a fixed 1Mb connection ...

    1. #1
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connect

      Hi
      A couple of days ago my Sky Connect broadband was activated. I was previously on a fixed 1Mb connection with Pipex.
      After a couple of reboots over the two days, I am still only syncing at 1312 kb.
      I know I am supposed to go through the 10 day training period but I was expecting more speed than this ( I know the line can sync up to 4mb)
      Is it possible that my line is still on a fixed 1mb profile?

      Connection Speed 1312 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 19 db

      Thanks
      Jeff


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect

      Also, it's probably not connected, but when I run the Sky Test, it says it is unable to detect a connection with error code 300, even though I have a connection!!

    4. #3
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect

      Error 300 just means that your router isn't receiving authentication.

      What is your physical setup like? Have you tried the test socket?
      If you are still on the 10 day training period there is a chance the speed can increase.

      Info on the setup would be great though!

    5. #4
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect

      I have a wired desktop and two wireless laptops.
      Not tried it from the test socket yet, will do that tomorrow.
      After a reboot this evening the sync has now gone down to 1120!!
      As I mentioned before, I know I can sync around 3.5-4 meg as I had that when Pipex switched me over to Tiscali servers.
      I just have a suspicioun that I may still be on a 1mb fixed profile, as these are the same stats I had when on Pipex and my d\l speed never goes over 1mb.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1120 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 18 db

      p.s If the router isnt authenticating, how come I have a connection?

    6. #5
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect

      Sync rate is much improved from the test socket.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2240 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 19 db

      BUT, my d/l speed still wont break the 1mb barrier.Numerous speed tests all come in between 950-990kbps

      And I still dont understand why the Skytest says 'unable to connect'?

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Connect

      Quote Originally Posted by steadyeddie View Post

      BUT, my d/l speed still wont break the 1mb barrier.Numerous speed tests all come in between 950-990kbps
      Connect isn't like the LLU products. It uses an exchange based system which sets an IP profile separate from the sync. As your sync has now risen, it will take 3 days for the profile (and hence your download speed) to rise too - unless your sync drops again, which it will do if you go back to your old connection.

      Edit: just looked up the figures for you. A sync of 2240kbps will give you a BRAS profile of 1500kbps giving you a possible download speed of ~1250kbps. If you can achieve 2272kbps then your profile would move to 2000kbps.
      Last edited by Saturday; 10-10-08 at 02:05 PM.

    8. #7
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect

      Quote Originally Posted by steadyeddie View Post
      p.s If the router isnt authenticating, how come I have a connection?
      You have sync but not an IP address, or so the sky test says.

      Is your internet light solid amber?

    9. #8
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect

      Quote Originally Posted by krysis View Post
      You have sync but not an IP address, or so the sky test says.

      Is your internet light solid amber?
      My lights are green, I have no problem connecting

    10. #9
      steadyeddie's Avatar
      steadyeddie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: embread
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Connect isn't like the LLU products. It uses an exchange based system which sets an IP profile separate from the sync. As your sync has now risen, it will take 3 days for the profile (and hence your download speed) to rise too - unless your sync drops again, which it will do if you go back to your old connection.

      Edit: just looked up the figures for you. A sync of 2240kbps will give you a BRAS profile of 1500kbps giving you a possible download speed of ~1250kbps. If you can achieve 2272kbps then your profile would move to 2000kbps.
      I have had a sync of over 2300 for almost four days now, but still my d/l speeds are under 1 meg. My line hasn't dropped once in this period.
      Is there any way of telling if my line is capped?
      Is it worth ringing Sky even though i'm still in my 'training period'?
      Surely I should be getting a better connection than this?

      Connection Speed 2176 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 19 db

      I'm also still getting the error 300 message
      Last edited by steadyeddie; 15-10-08 at 03:43 AM.

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Connect

      It's not the line dropping that would cause a lower profile but the sync speed dropping below a set of thresholds.

      Things aren't that straightforward during the training period though. All you can do is ensure your line is in the best possible condition and things will normally sort themselves out by day 10.

      No, there's no point in contacting Sky during the training period and no, you've not been capped, Connect is never capped (not in the LLU sense anyway) as it is an automatic system.

      Yes, you should be getting a better sync/profile looking at your attenuation and you probably will, provided you've eliminated any extra line noise.

      No idea about the error 300. As said earlier that's an authentication error code. However, you're being authenticated OK. I wouldn't worry about it.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION