Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 43

    Connected this morning but

    This is a discussion on Connected this morning but within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL2+ only gets used on lines running 8Mb or more I think, once your line speed increases it will switch....

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connected this morning but

      ADSL2+ only gets used on lines running 8Mb or more I think, once your line speed increases it will switch.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected this morning but

      Well thats just not right , i signed up for sky max for adsl2+ wasn't told adsl2+ was for lines with 8mb and over if i knew that i would have gone back to BE* gggrrr .

    4. #13
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connected this morning but

      If you have a test socket plug into it with a new filter, see if your stats change. If they do post them up for us to look at.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connected this morning but

      Your download speed indicates that you are on G.DMT, not ADSL2+. When the DLM kicks in you will be moved to ADSL2+ to see if your line is capable of running it. With your present figures it does not look like it. Can you plug into your Test socket and check the stats from there?

      If you are within the 8 day cancellation window you can still move back to Be.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected this morning but

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your download speed indicates that you are on G.DMT, not ADSL2+. When the DLM kicks in you will be moved to ADSL2+ to see if your line is capable of running it. With your present figures it does not look like it. Can you plug into your Test socket and check the stats from there?

      If you are within the 8 day cancellation window you can still move back to Be.
      I was connected this morning so yes within the 8days, stats are the same in the test socket , no extentions in the house just 2 wires connected and a clear line . I know my line can handle adsl2+ the only reason i moved from be* was cost .

      Why do i feel i have been shafted , my bum is still swore from tiscali experiance

      Would Tech move me on request ? o

    7. #16
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Connected this morning but

      I've got to say, I kind of feel the same. I thought I was getting ADSL2+.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connected this morning but

      You can ask them, but I doubt if it would do any good

      Experience on here has shown that on lines not capable of 8 Mbs, G.DMT gives the most stable connection. There are a some on ADSL2+, but they are few and far between.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Connected this morning but

      Yes Tom is right leave well alone, Meanwhile I'll just sit back with my full 16meg and a Sagem router. Can life get any better? Sorry Sebby, I just could not resist it

    10. #19
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected this morning but

      All this wait thinking that long last i would be back on ADSL2+ only to find i'm no better off.

      Well i suppose one last shafting won't hurt .

      I ordered a second BT line 2 days ago , i'll have be* on there as i was going to order Sky for that line too , not now thou .

      Not a happy sky bb customer

    11. #20
      MarkMK's Avatar
      MarkMK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Milton Keynes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bletchley
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected this morning but

      found one of my old stats from be* days

      Uptime: 8 days, 0:18:50
      Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,178 / 6,011
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 2.96 / 32.87
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.0
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 30.0 / 54.5
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.0 / 5.0
      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB /
      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Link (Remote): 0
      Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 38 / 0
      FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 38,411
      CRC Errors (Up/Down): 9 / 73
      HEC Errors (Up/Down): 18 / 46

      and there was me thinking i would get something simular lol

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION