Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

    This is a discussion on broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by stephensky Right, I've now just 'hard wired' a connection,and it acts exactly the same, so I guess ...

    1. #11
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

      Quote Originally Posted by stephensky View Post
      Right, I've now just 'hard wired' a connection,and it acts exactly the same, so I guess I can rule out wireless interference...

      What can I do now? Please don't ask to to call Sky 'support', life really is too short and in 14 years with sky, they've never one sorted out a problem for me

      stephen
      Yep - that's ruled out wireless as the issue. Next up would be a line issue but your stats show what the problem actually is.

      Looking at your stats I'm afraid your fears have been realised. Your connection appears to have been heavily capped (ref. noise margin) - why is impossible to say. There's not anything else you can do other than call Sky, go through the T1 low speed troubleshooting and then get escalated to CST.

      Edit: actually, there is one thing you should do first: power off your router and leave it off for 20 minutes then power back up- that should rule out a temporary router glitch such as overheating. If the stats are the same then try a connection using your test socket if you have one (inside your master) as advised earlier and a different filter. There's a small chance that there is some odd wiring/filter effect (unlikely) but in any case, T1 will ask you to do it anyway.

      One other thing - you are certain you're on Base not Connect? Unlike Base (LLU) a wiring problem with Connect (BT) can cause the high noise margin and low sync you're experiencing.

      If on Connect and the test socket connection doesn't help, you'll still need to contact Sky it's just the issue and likelihood of an acceptable resolution will be different.
      Last edited by Saturday; 10-10-08 at 09:32 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      stephensky's Avatar
      stephensky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

      Thanks Saturday for the great advice - will try the 'power off' procedure when I get home tonight. By the way, yes I'm sure I am on 'base'. I absolutely refused sky's generous offer (!) to put me on connect

      I just find it so frustrating that it was all working so perfectly, then all of a sudden, it deteriorated so quickly for no reason on my part.

      stephen

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

      you can't refuse Connect - if there' no space for an OnNet connection then Connect is all that's available...Sky won't offer you Connect if there are spaces available to go on Base/Mid/Max...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      stephensky's Avatar
      stephensky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

      Ooopps....

      My apologies. Confusion of sky terminology - it was 'sky talk' I refused, don't know why I thought it was 'connect' - sorry for any confusion!

      I'm definitely on 'base' though as my confirmation letter from sky said that on it.

      Stephen
      Last edited by stephensky; 10-10-08 at 01:55 PM.

    6. #15
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

      I think you may be getting a little confused here. Connect has nothing to do with calls.

      Sky offer two types of Broadband: their LLU products (Base, Mid and Max) using their own equipment/network and Connect which is a BT service used when Sky don't have a presence or available capacity in an exchange.

    7. #16
      stephensky's Avatar
      stephensky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

      Hi Saturday,

      Guess what!! I turned the router off for half an hour, turned it back on again, and I now have 'smooth' video back

      I turned it off before as part of my own diagnosis but only for around a minute, and it made no difference. I'm delighted your solution worked.

      Thank you so much......

      stephen

      PS just out of curiosity, why would turning it off/on for such an extended period make such a difference?

    8. #17
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

      Quote Originally Posted by stephensky View Post
      PS just out of curiosity, why would turning it off/on for such an extended period make such a difference?
      The main effect was probably to let the components cool down. The DG834GT does tend to run hot and it is vital that it has adequate ventilation all round. This is best achieved by mounting it on its feet and placing on a shelf or similar. Some people have "fried" their routers in no time by lying them on their side on carpet. Is/was your router hot to the touch?

      Glad the video etc is back to normal. What about your stats?

    9. #18
      stephensky's Avatar
      stephensky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

      These are my latest stats:


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 17846 16619 0 325 4558 01:17:56
      LAN 100M/Full 400 0 0 16 0 01:19:22
      WLAN 11M/54M 16892 18152 0 4555 327 01:19:09
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52 db 13.5 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 14 db

      The router feels cool, its sits upright on a table with nothing around it, so its well ventilated. Do the stats show a physical improvement?

      stephen

    10. #19
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

      Quote Originally Posted by stephensky View Post
      Do the stats show a physical improvement?

      stephen
      Yes, you now have a perfectly OK 2meg Base connection

      But, oddly, your attenuation has risen by 5db. Very strange.
      Last edited by Saturday; 10-10-08 at 06:10 PM.

    11. #20
      stephensky's Avatar
      stephensky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband has converted itself to 'dial-up'!

      But, oddly, your attenuation has risen by 5db. Very strange
      Is that a good/bad thing, or just strange

      stephen

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION