Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    How does this look?

    This is a discussion on How does this look? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; True but your stats are not as bad as his which suggests his line goes around the whole town before ...

    1. #11
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      True but your stats are not as bad as his which suggests his line goes around the whole town before it gets to him
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      uclown2002's Avatar
      uclown2002 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birstwith
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Harrogate
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I have just moved in and I live in a remote vilage; I don't think the previous occupant had broadband and it is only the last year that B/band arrived here. Birstwith, where the exchange is located, is out in the sticks itself. I thought exchange was only capable of 1-1.5 MBs, which would suggest I am doing OK and not likely to see any improvement in the near future.

      Am I right in assuming that?

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I would say yes, as long as you are happy, then get on with downloading the tinternet.

      A lot of people are still on 512 bb and cant get any faster




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      ^^^^^ What he said
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #15
      uclown2002's Avatar
      uclown2002 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birstwith
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Harrogate
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK guys; thanks for your help.

    7. #16
      uclown2002's Avatar
      uclown2002 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birstwith
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Harrogate
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I've been reading through this forum and decided to do a few more tests.

      I have router hard wired to PC and the router is connected to an extension socket. I took some further readings at 0930 hrs;

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2496 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 10.0 db

      Live about 3.3km (as crow flies) from Birstwith exchange

      I disconnected other sockets are saw a modest increase in N/M to 6.6

      I plugged laptop and router directly into main BT socket but the numbers were much the same:-
      Connection Speed 2464 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 10.0 db

      That suggests (to me!) internal wiring and use of extrension socket for router is OK.

      Plugged router directly into BT Test socket and found:

      Connection Speed 2624 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.4 db 10.0 db

      So connection and line margin only show are very modest improvement.

      Can I assume there is little point in investing in one of these faceplates recommended on the forum?

      I understand that N/M under 6db makes for a unstable connection, although I have yet to see it. Is there anything I can do, other than periodically reboot the router to improve N/M?

      Thanks.

    8. #17
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi uclown2002

      Yep thats one of the headaches of long lines one day they will find a way to make this better.

      I am not sure if it would be looking at the slight improvement if the NM but I feel any increase no matter how small is good for you.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION