Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

    This is a discussion on Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've just got sky BB in a new house, connects to two of my friends laptops fine. However i ...

    1. #1
      Kingo's Avatar
      Kingo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

      Hi,
      I've just got sky BB in a new house, connects to two of my friends laptops fine. However i have a desktop, i can connect to the router, recieve a good signal and even stay connected for 4 seconds but with no access to any internet.

      Its intermittent connected then not every 4 seconds or so.

      Any help or ideas would be much appreciated, if theres any info i could post up to help identify the problem just post it up and il try my best to find it.

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      julessandra's Avatar
      julessandra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ashton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      ashton-under-lyne
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

      hi, you've not said how your connecting to your router? if its wirless thats giving you problems why not try a earthnet cable connect direct see if that gives you any joy

    4. #3
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

      Whats the distance away from the router ?

      Could try changing the channel number by logging on to the router. 192.16.0.1 user - admin password - sky?

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

      If its wireless and a black router I would navigate to 192.168.0.1
      user name admin
      password sky
      and see what channel is in use. If it's in "Auto" put it into a physical channel number and apply changes, if it's set to a channel number post what it is and someone will advise you of what to change it to.
      One other thing to check is that you put the network key in using capital letters if this is wireless as putting lower case will work but you go round in an acquiring IP address loop but as this is working then dropping I would think channel issues.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

      ^ if it's a Sagem, Netgears already have a set channel...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

      if it's set to a channel number post what it is and someone will advise you of what to change it to.
      That would be a guess, far better downloading Netstumbler, detecting adjacent Networks and setting the Channel as far from them as possible. Channel 13 is usually clear in most areas, due to users not realizing it can be used.

      The problem sounds like a security one. Disabling the Security in the router would confirm if this is true or not.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

      To be honest netstumbler would be the best way to go (it's how I make sure I know who is on what channel near me) but in theory it could also be something mundane like a cordless phone base next to the router causing the channel issue and that wouldn't show in netstumbler.

    9. #8
      Kingo's Avatar
      Kingo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

      Hi thanks for the replys,
      yes i am connected wirelessly and it is a black router. I tried changing the channel so its on 11 now and still no change.

      Im about 8 meters from the router and my computer says im getting about 85% signal.

      With netstumbler im not sure my wireless adaptor is compatible as it says "no wireless adapter detected" at the bottom of netstumbler.

      If it helps im using a Micronet wireless adaptor which comes up as "Realtek rTL8187B Wireless 802.11g

      thanks for the help!

      also just to add my PS3 also cannot connect to this router as it times out when "exchanging key information"

    10. #9
      pebbleheed's Avatar
      pebbleheed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 3 for 26
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      106
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That would be a guess, far better downloading Netstumbler, detecting adjacent Networks and setting the Channel as far from them as possible. Channel 13 is usually clear in most areas, due to users not realizing it can be used.

      The problem sounds like a security one. Disabling the Security in the router would confirm if this is true or not.
      Remember that when using a wireless G network there are only 3 non-overlapping channels. These are 1, 6 and 11.

      13 will have overlap, so it's worth find out if there are other networks in the area first and what channel they are on before making a decision.

      If Netstumbler doesn't work with your card (doesn't work with all), then try Vistumbler which appears to be more compatible.


      Still NO solution from Sky! Still not fixed!

    11. #10
      Kingo's Avatar
      Kingo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection....No connection....Connection....No connection!

      ok ive since checked for other networks in the area using netstumbler and it shows they are all on different channels, im borrowing someones wireless card later this week to check if that works, however im skeptical the problem is my wireless adaptor as my PS3 also has connection problems

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION