Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 74

    SkyTechnicalSupport

    This is a discussion on SkyTechnicalSupport within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey guys, first off, can i just say that ive added one of my email addresses , so anyone can ...

    1. #1
      SkyTechnicalSupport's Avatar
      SkyTechnicalSupport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool SkyTechnicalSupport

      Hey guys,

      first off, can i just say that ive added one of my email addresses , so anyone can mail me. i have to say though, i wont tolerate abuse, lol.

      ive worked for sky broadand technical support since they started, and id be happy to help in any way i can. unfortunatly, if its something to do with your account, youd need to call one of the help centres.

      and adding to this forum is probably a sackable offence, but anyway. lol

      i completely understand all the frustation that sky customers are going through, having to deal with frustated customers all day! all i can say is, im not a customer services rep, im tech support.

      ill answer most questions posted.

      oh, and btw, im doing this off my own bat, noones told me to.

      let thefloodgates be opened!!!!!!!

      sts


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skonz's Avatar
      skonz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hey there nice to see a person from Sky getting involved!

      Maybe you can help me with my slow speed problems !

      Hehe.

    4. #3
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
      Hi SkyTechnicalSupport, a quick question.
      I've just got home and I had no connection although the LEDs on the router all looked fine. notived the SNR had dropped to 4.3 so I tried to reboot via the option under diagnostics but the router just ignored the command. I rebooted by powering the router off and back on, and it eventually reconnected, but I noticed that there is an extra LED between the tick and the wireless indicator and it wasn't untill that came on that the connection actually worked. Any idea what that extra LED signifies?

    5. #4
      smokie's Avatar
      smokie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hi support and wellcome
      i hope you can answer the problems that most people have myself included
      when we have to keep rebooting the router from about 8pm onwards every night as our connection becomes dial up speed or disconnects
      and after having to reboot 10 times tonight i for have had enough

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4679 kbps 757 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 37.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 10.0 db

    6. #5
      x416cfny's Avatar
      x416cfny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can I use my own router?

      I seem to be getting very poor wireless connection with router provided by sky. Is it possible to use a different router? If so, what model should I look into and how do I set it up?

      Thanks

    7. #6
      Homer007's Avatar
      Homer007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi,

      My connection constantly drops losing my IP Address on the router needing a reboot to get it back, all the lights stay on the router as if I am still connect OK.

    8. #7
      bravedan's Avatar
      bravedan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton (SDLTTLH)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Littlehampton, West Sussex
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If you only have slowdowns and disconnections at PEAK times, you are very lucky................my system (single 3Ghz P4 PC, Intel MOBO, Ethernet wired, wireless turned off, short cabling, currently on the "Connect" service) will cease working anytime it's left alone for more than a few mins, the router just "goes to sleep", no activity on internet and "1" connection lights.

      This PC was formerly in use at a different location on NTL BB via a Netgear router, where it performed perfectly. It's HDD drive has been replaced and completely built up from master CDs and internet updates/downloads for this location, so NO old files exist. It works perfectly on dial up within it's limits.

      Ignoring the BB issue, the PC is fast, and 100%.

      Power cycle router and it's all go again till the next time I pause for thought or go to get a drink......... AND just sometimes it does this even while being used. On day three I needed to do 30 plus (I lost count, even noting on paper!!) router reboots, starting use at 05:30 throughout daytime.

      I'm getting approx 4Mb when it is working.

      ALSO............

      Numerous sites not accessible. (Assume BOGON filtering?)

      Numerous sites accessible to Home Page, but login will not run, bounces back to login start. (Site "illegal" IP address rejection???)

      Unable to set Email accounts. (told SKY issue)

      Unable to change Email password. (told SKY issue)


      Surely ALL things which simple basic testing before launch would have shown up...........???

      Anyway, can we please have some basic feedback on what the known issues are so we are not running round like headless chickens wasting time trying to locally "fix" the currently unfixable?????????????????????????????????

      Cheers,

      Dave

    9. #8
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      wow your much braver than I am.

      theres a few of us from support scatterd about, good to see you helpin just be carefull.

    10. #9
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Welcome skytechnical support, please pm newsreader if you have not done so already as we have a section where sky staff can speak to us and we can post further questions for them.

    11. #10
      SkyTechnicalSupport's Avatar
      SkyTechnicalSupport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      slow speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by skonz View Post
      Hey there nice to see a person from Sky getting involved!

      Maybe you can help me with my slow speed problems !

      Hehe.
      slow speeds can be caused by a number of issues.

      what does your router say your synced up at?

      what operating system you running?

      have you ran a netstat?

      let me know and ill see what i can do to help.

      sts

     

     
    Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 01-05-08, 01:52 PM
    2. 11-04-08, 05:50 PM
    3. 14-03-08, 05:58 PM
    4. 28-02-08, 04:27 PM
    5. 28-02-08, 11:07 AM
    6. 28-02-08, 12:13 AM
    7. 27-02-08, 11:11 PM
    8. 07-01-08, 10:34 PM
    9. 01-01-08, 12:57 PM
    10. 30-12-07, 01:11 PM
    11. 29-12-07, 08:16 PM
    12. 28-12-07, 10:14 PM
    13. 28-12-07, 09:57 PM
    14. 26-12-07, 12:38 PM
    15. 25-12-07, 01:48 PM
    16. 23-12-07, 11:08 AM
    17. 22-12-07, 02:03 PM
    18. 19-12-07, 02:26 PM
    19. 19-12-07, 12:49 PM
    20. 08-12-07, 04:20 PM
    21. 05-12-07, 05:30 PM
    22. 30-11-07, 07:27 PM
    23. 30-11-07, 09:59 AM
    24. 30-11-07, 12:26 AM
    25. 28-11-07, 02:11 PM
    26. 27-11-07, 11:44 AM
    27. 23-11-07, 08:57 PM
    28. 22-11-07, 07:59 PM
    29. 22-11-07, 05:54 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION