Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 74

    SkyTechnicalSupport

    This is a discussion on SkyTechnicalSupport within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by moleman Hi SkyTechnicalSupport, a quick question. I've just got home and I had no connection although the ...

    1. #11
      SkyTechnicalSupport's Avatar
      SkyTechnicalSupport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      extra led??!

      Quote Originally Posted by moleman View Post
      Hi SkyTechnicalSupport, a quick question.
      I've just got home and I had no connection although the LEDs on the router all looked fine. notived the SNR had dropped to 4.3 so I tried to reboot via the option under diagnostics but the router just ignored the command. I rebooted by powering the router off and back on, and it eventually reconnected, but I noticed that there is an extra LED between the tick and the wireless indicator and it wasn't untill that came on that the connection actually worked. Any idea what that extra LED signifies?

      no idea about an extra led, never heard it before.

      sure its not a reflection?

      phone the call centres, ask for a replacement router, use the old one til it comes, and then take the other one apart!

      sorry can help further, but all sky routers are, are netgears with the sky logo on, and hardwired so you wouldnt be able to change settings.

      sts


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      SkyTechnicalSupport's Avatar
      SkyTechnicalSupport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      slow speeds after a certain time

      Quote Originally Posted by smokie View Post
      hi support and wellcome
      i hope you can answer the problems that most people have myself included
      when we have to keep rebooting the router from about 8pm onwards every night as our connection becomes dial up speed or disconnects
      and after having to reboot 10 times tonight i for have had enough

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4679 kbps 757 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 37.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 10.0 db
      smokie, for a start your line att down is nearing the "unaccetable" standerd set by bt. the cut off is 60 db. this can cause slow speeds and intermittent connection.

      is there any roadworks etc, in your area? they can sometimes cause this.

      otherwise, youd need to call up, and get the "mythical" tier 3 to mess about with noise margins, etc.

      let me know.

    4. #13
      SkyTechnicalSupport's Avatar
      SkyTechnicalSupport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      using own router

      Quote Originally Posted by x416cfny View Post
      I seem to be getting very poor wireless connection with router provided by sky. Is it possible to use a different router? If so, what model should I look into and how do I set it up?

      Thanks
      tech support is told, "no only the sky router can be used."

      the reason behind this, and the reason some of us think the routers are having so many problems, is that theres an extra chip in the box somewhere, that takes the mac address for authorisation, and stops you messing with vpi and vci settings etc.

      now, theres a legendary rumor, that someone has managed to remove said chip, see what the username and password is, and use their own router.

      as in previous thread, if you really want to do it, phone the call centres, ask for a replacement box, and mess with the other one.

      happy hunting, let me know

      sts

    5. #14
      SkyTechnicalSupport's Avatar
      SkyTechnicalSupport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by x416cfny View Post
      I seem to be getting very poor wireless connection with router provided by sky. Is it possible to use a different router? If so, what model should I look into and how do I set it up?

      Thanks
      oh! and also!

      if its a poor wireless connnection, post some stats, layout of box and pc etc, and ill see what i can do...

      sts

    6. #15
      SkyTechnicalSupport's Avatar
      SkyTechnicalSupport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      droppin ip addy

      Quote Originally Posted by Homer007 View Post
      Hi,

      My connection constantly drops losing my IP Address on the router needing a reboot to get it back, all the lights stay on the router as if I am still connect OK.
      can you post some stats, and well try to get a resolution?

      you may need to call the centres, if you havent already, ahem, and try to get to tier 3.

      sts

    7. #16
      SkyTechnicalSupport's Avatar
      SkyTechnicalSupport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by bravedan View Post
      If you only have slowdowns and disconnections at PEAK times, you are very lucky................my system (single 3Ghz P4 PC, Intel MOBO, Ethernet wired, wireless turned off, short cabling, currently on the "Connect" service) will cease working anytime it's left alone for more than a few mins, the router just "goes to sleep", no activity on internet and "1" connection lights.

      This PC was formerly in use at a different location on NTL BB via a Netgear router, where it performed perfectly. It's HDD drive has been replaced and completely built up from master CDs and internet updates/downloads for this location, so NO old files exist. It works perfectly on dial up within it's limits.

      Ignoring the BB issue, the PC is fast, and 100%.

      Power cycle router and it's all go again till the next time I pause for thought or go to get a drink......... AND just sometimes it does this even while being used. On day three I needed to do 30 plus (I lost count, even noting on paper!!) router reboots, starting use at 05:30 throughout daytime.

      I'm getting approx 4Mb when it is working.

      ALSO............

      Numerous sites not accessible. (Assume BOGON filtering?)

      Numerous sites accessible to Home Page, but login will not run, bounces back to login start. (Site "illegal" IP address rejection???)

      Unable to set Email accounts. (told SKY issue)

      Unable to change Email password. (told SKY issue)


      Surely ALL things which simple basic testing before launch would have shown up...........???

      Anyway, can we please have some basic feedback on what the known issues are so we are not running round like headless chickens wasting time trying to locally "fix" the currently unfixable?????????????????????????????????

      Cheers,

      Dave
      wow.

      well, ive read the site pretty through and through, and all the issues i know of are already here.

      have you installed the mcafee that was on the sky setup disc? that can cause login issues.

      the webmail is a piece of cack, tech support staff arent told anything, and so i can understand frustation when one of you guys fone us up and we go, "erm dunno." all i know is, its already being worked on, some ppl can get in, and some cant blah blah blah. i would suggest not using it, and yes, i know thats a useless suggestion...

      the router issue sounds like a "keepalive" or "idletime" issue, which you cant change in the router, cus its one of the settings you cant change. can i get back to you on it? lol

      if youre using a dialup, did you have to install any software? check in Internet Explorer, got to tools, internet options, connections tab, lan settings button, and make sure everythings unchecked.

      also go to start, run, type cmd to get command prompt open.
      type in netsh interface ip reset resetlog.txt and tell me if it helps.

      sts

      ps, did i miss anything? lol

    8. #17
      SkyTechnicalSupport's Avatar
      SkyTechnicalSupport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      theg33k

      Quote Originally Posted by theg33k View Post
      wow your much braver than I am.

      theres a few of us from support scatterd about, good to see you helpin just be carefull.
      dont worry bout it. im hardly going to post any personal info, or any info you cant get by phoning me. lol

      pm me, i wanna know who you are!

      sts

    9. #18
      SkyTechnicalSupport's Avatar
      SkyTechnicalSupport is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool thanx

      Quote Originally Posted by hugsie View Post
      Welcome skytechnical support, please pm newsreader if you have not done so already as we have a section where sky staff can speak to us and we can post further questions for them.
      thanx hugsie, i have done, but i just want to put across to someone, that someone does care, someone will phone you back, someone will try to get you up and running, and not everyone in tech support is a numpty.

      sts

    10. #19
      smokie's Avatar
      smokie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      emailed you my stats and put them on here last night
      didnt get a answer i guess your going to be very busy on
      here for a while

    11. #20
      ianb11's Avatar
      ianb11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancs
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi.

      I'm having a problem adding an additonal user.

      I do this:

      Go to www.sky.com and click on Login/Register

      Enter 'User Name' & 'Password' in the correct fields and click on 'LOGIN

      Click on the 'My Sky' tab

      Click on 'Edit My Sky Profile

      Click on 'View My Additional Users'

      Click on 'Set Up An Additional User'

      However, no option appears to "set up" when I get to this page.

      Any advice?

      Cheers.

      Quote Originally Posted by SkyTechnicalSupport View Post
      thanx hugsie, i have done, but i just want to put across to someone, that someone does care, someone will phone you back, someone will try to get you up and running, and not everyone in tech support is a numpty.

      sts

     

     
    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 01-05-08, 01:52 PM
    2. 11-04-08, 05:50 PM
    3. 14-03-08, 05:58 PM
    4. 28-02-08, 04:27 PM
    5. 28-02-08, 11:07 AM
    6. 28-02-08, 12:13 AM
    7. 27-02-08, 11:11 PM
    8. 07-01-08, 10:34 PM
    9. 01-01-08, 12:57 PM
    10. 30-12-07, 01:11 PM
    11. 29-12-07, 08:16 PM
    12. 28-12-07, 10:14 PM
    13. 28-12-07, 09:57 PM
    14. 26-12-07, 12:38 PM
    15. 25-12-07, 01:48 PM
    16. 23-12-07, 11:08 AM
    17. 22-12-07, 02:03 PM
    18. 19-12-07, 02:26 PM
    19. 19-12-07, 12:49 PM
    20. 08-12-07, 04:20 PM
    21. 05-12-07, 05:30 PM
    22. 30-11-07, 07:27 PM
    23. 30-11-07, 09:59 AM
    24. 30-11-07, 12:26 AM
    25. 28-11-07, 02:11 PM
    26. 27-11-07, 11:44 AM
    27. 23-11-07, 08:57 PM
    28. 22-11-07, 07:59 PM
    29. 22-11-07, 05:54 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION