Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Not getting what i paid for.

    This is a discussion on Not getting what i paid for. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I was told before i took out a contract that the full 16meg broadband package was available to me. When ...

    1. #1
      Homerclease's Avatar
      Homerclease is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01635
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Not getting what i paid for.

      I was told before i took out a contract that the full 16meg broadband package was available to me.

      When it was first installed i was only getting about 5500 Down and 500 Up on speedtest.net

      About 20 minutes ago my connection dropped to this: http://www.speedtest.net/result/333375031.png

      This: http://www.speedtest.net/result/242101970.png is much more like the Internet i should be paying for, and is what i was under the impression i was paying for, not for a connection that is much less than half of what it should be.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Not getting what i paid for.

      You need to post your router stats to establish what you problem could be.
      Plug your router into your master socket, ideallyh also try plugging into the master test socket.
      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to get your router statistics


    4. #3
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not getting what i paid for.

      Also the speedtest.net site is not exactly accurate either.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Not getting what i paid for.

      No doubt the full "Up To" 16Mb package is available to you, you just may not be able to get that speed as it is governed by a number of things. Do as requested above and post some stats, also please post a brief outline of your physical setup (extensions in use, how many sockets on line etc).

    6. #5
      pebbleheed's Avatar
      pebbleheed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 3 for 26
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      106
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not getting what i paid for.

      Get used to it, I was meant to get 8Mb and got just under 2Mb from Sky.

      Hapilly though, I'm leaving them and moving back to VM who are better at giving me the speeds I'm paying for.

      You may be able to get more from your connection though and the people on this site are good at advising how to do that.

      Good luck


      Still NO solution from Sky! Still not fixed!

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Not getting what i paid for.

      I would have thought, that with the publicity it has received everyone would be aware that all ADSL is supplied on an 'up to' basis and what you get depends very much on your phone line length and condition. Post your stats as has been requested and you will get help to increase your speed. You may not get 16Mb, but you can probably get more. Don't just 'get used to it'.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Homerclease's Avatar
      Homerclease is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01635
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not getting what i paid for.

      Here are my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6368 kbps 160 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 11 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 7 db

      It was fine until last night, i was getting at least 500 Upload. Now its dropped to about 100, 100 less than i was getting with the FREE internet Orange was providing me.

      I play Xbox live, since i have had my new connection from Sky i have received no lag at all, then last night my connection dropped, and now i can hardly connect to it and its lagging horrendously.

      I have 3 computers running off my modem, this one, which is wired, and two others which are wireless laptops, which are hardly ever in use. I also have my xbox wired to the modem. Most of the time it is just this computer that is using the Internet, and still im only getting about 100 upload.
      Last edited by Homerclease; 04-10-08 at 04:39 PM.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Not getting what i paid for.

      Do you have a test socket? If you do plug the router into it and take the stats for comparison.

      With an attenuation of 39dbs you will not get anywhere near 16 Mbs, you might get 9-10 Mb if you line is in good condition.

      Your upload speed looks suspicious and may reqire fixing by Sky, but post your test socket stats first.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Homerclease's Avatar
      Homerclease is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01635
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not getting what i paid for.

      i don't think i have a test socket.

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Not getting what i paid for.

      If you do it will be behind the master socket.
      Sky User - Help & Support for Sky & Sky Broadband - How to test your Master Socket
      Although if you do have an old type master socket you wont have a test socket.


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION