Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

    This is a discussion on Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi. I have recently switched to sky max broadband and have had many problems with it. I have the Sagem ...

    1. #1
      TheTroubledUser's Avatar
      TheTroubledUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

      Hi.

      I have recently switched to sky max broadband and have had many problems with it.

      I have the Sagem black router.

      I get random disconnects that happen about once every couple of hours and much more frequently in the evening.

      Sometimes when the phone rings the internet will disconnect.

      Port forwarding doesnt work very well--- get high latency still in World of Warcraft

      Internet speed will be at 9000kbits then suddenly disconnect and when it has reconected a minute later it will be 700Kbits.

      Webpages take longer than they should to load.

      I get noise on the phone which sounds crackily.





      Tried UPNP it didn't make a difference on or off. i am connected wireless 802.11g. Have to reboot the router often.

      Please help. i am getting very sick off the crap downstream and disconnects and high gaming latency.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

      Post your stats from your normal position and from your Test socket.

      There are very few who can get a satisfactory gaming performance using wireless. 9 times out of 10 you will see an immediate improvement using ethernet. Plugging the router into the Master socket through a filtered faceplate then using a Homeplug network to service the rest of the house is the best solution.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      TheTroubledUser's Avatar
      TheTroubledUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

      http://s393.photobucket.com/albums/p...rrent=img1.jpg

      Sorry about the writing. photobucket scales the img down.

      Interestingly my upload is constantly good but downstream is terrible most of the time.

      i spend most of the time around the downstream shown in the picture.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

      If you are getting noise on the line then that can impact adsl, are you in the main socket (test socket is ideal for testing on this) using ethernet? Also are there more than one socket on the line? If so are filters in use on all sockets? Any socket with equipment plugged into it must have a filter connected directly onto the socket plate before any other equipment unless you have a pre-filter plate. Also gaming latency may need max delay reduction using the kana form on sky.com help center, contact us.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

      As Paul says, try it in the Test socket. Your connection speed is very low for your attenuation, probably due to faulty wiring. While you have the Master socket faceplate removed, check that all the other sockets in your house are dead.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      01706's Avatar
      01706 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

      sounds like DLM, had the same problem, just keep the router on for 10 days with out turning it off and it would be fine after that.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

      DLM isn't running at present so unless he was in the trial in June/July it's not that...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      TheTroubledUser's Avatar
      TheTroubledUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

      Ok. We have just put in a new line a nd everything for the router.
      It has made an improvement.

      Are download speed is 6times higher and disconnects are rare though i did have one yesterday when someone rang up.

      The problem now is that for such a fast line i have lag in Mozilla firefox (it takes a lot longer than it used to) and when playing PS3 games online.

      Is there anyway to counter this. It is very annoying.

      here is an image of the new information. here

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

      If the speed is better in the master socket, that suggests that your internal wiring is at fault.

      Have a look in the cabling and faceplate help forums for some more info and how to fix etc

      Cabling and faceplate help

      To sort the lag out, ask Sky to reduce your Max_Delays

      Use the Kana form

      How to Contact Sky (New) July 2008

      More information in this thread.

      Sky Have Listened To The Gamers




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      TheTroubledUser's Avatar
      TheTroubledUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Max and Sagem router

      We have put in brand new wiring and it has made an improvement but we still have problems.

      I'm starting to wonder if it is the router.

      Strangely upstream is not affected.
      Last edited by TheTroubledUser; 05-10-08 at 09:46 AM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION