Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Possible fault with BT line?

    This is a discussion on Possible fault with BT line? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well sky seem to have been tinkering and through the test socket i'm getting these stats: Port Status TxPkts RxPkts ...

    1. #11
      norks27's Avatar
      norks27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheam, Surrey
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton, Surrey
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible fault with BT line?

      Well sky seem to have been tinkering and through the test socket i'm getting these stats:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 15 7 0 0 0 0:02:31
      LAN 333 216 0 0 0 0:03:24
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10871 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 23.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 11.5 db

      Now the stats for via the master socket have not changed:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 297711 511763 0 0 0 11:11:20
      LAN 513097 298497 0 0 0 11:12:37
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8026 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 23.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 13.0 db


      So all of a sudden I'm getting 2mbps more from the test socket. I'm hoping that fitting the ADSL XTE face plate will sort out this discrepancy as it is a bit on the messy side to have the faceplate dangling down.

      Do you reckon the new faceplate would sort it out?

      Thanks for all the advice and input.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Possible fault with BT line?

      Yes, it should. Using an ADSL faceplate you are isolating the extensions which are causing your problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      norks27's Avatar
      norks27 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheam, Surrey
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Sutton, Surrey
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Possible fault with BT line?

      Thanks for all the advice.

      I'm happy to report that I now have the same figures from the test socket and the newly installed ADSL Nation XTE faceplate. Seems I'm getting a respectable figure.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 9 5 0 0 0 0:00:15
      LAN 325 211 0 0 0 0:01:08
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10605 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 23.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 10.5 db

      Thanks again,
      Richard

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Possible fault with BT line?

      That looks very good, over 90% of problems are down to internal wiring which is not up to scratch and as you have proved can be resolved very easily.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION