Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    UKOnline to Sky Migration - both active?

    This is a discussion on UKOnline to Sky Migration - both active? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I've just been migrated to Sky BB Max today "Your Sky Broadband order is complete.", but strangely, I ...

    1. #1
      robn170's Avatar
      robn170 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question UKOnline to Sky Migration - both active?

      Hi all,

      I've just been migrated to Sky BB Max today "Your Sky Broadband order is complete.", but strangely, I haven't been disconnected at all during the day.. so I rebooted my (non sky) router and it connected up to UKOnline as normal, getting DSL Speed: 768/7616kbps, with my normal UKOnline IP address.

      So I plugged in the Sky Router, and lo and behold, I get a Sky IP address, and the connection speed it identical. I'm on ADSL_G.dmt with both modems (and both are ADSL2+ ones)

      Have they forgotten to do something?

      Cheers, Rob


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: UKOnline to Sky Migration - both active?

      Unless of course, its because Sky own Easynet and they haven't finished the paperwork off so to speak.

      I am not sure if any changes would have needed to be made at the exchange or not.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      robn170's Avatar
      robn170 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UKOnline to Sky Migration - both active?

      got it sorted now.. called UKO and they disconnected my ID. Then I called Sky and they switched me onto ADSL2+ (after the pain of getting thru L1 who didn't know what G.dmt was). Now connected at 8mbps and getting 800k downloads. My line won't support over 8, but I could only get 7 previously.

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: UKOnline to Sky Migration - both active?

      Thats impressive, you must have a silver tongue Rob.


    6. #5
      pookinpie's Avatar
      pookinpie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01923
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UKOnline to Sky Migration - both active?

      I had a similar issue this week - switched from pipex to sky for my isp. Got a voicemail to say i was live - and could access pipex and sky at the same time. Rang pipex - they said the mac code had not been used, my account was still live with them and their tag was still on the line. Rang Sky who catagorically said i was live with them and their tag was on the line. Rang BT who said pipex still had a tag on the line. Pipex wanted to charge me for another month's useage and were pretty rude - when i rang them a second time, spoke to someone else who said they could cancel the account and there would be nothing to pay! Have cancelled DD now anyway just to be sure.
      Another annoying thing is that having set up a new email account with sky - and configured Outlook to fetch mail - sent one or 2 mails then did a bulk send of 50 or so to inform all contacts of new email account - every single one of them bounced back. I could receive mails but not send them. To cut a very long story short - I spent 2 days on the phone to various people at sky who could not solve the problem. One even said that they had never heard or such a case and that there was nothing they could do to help! Managed to send another couple of emails this morning before the same thing started happening - once again everything was bouncing back. Another day on the phone to webmail support (explaining the whole history each time) ended at my 4th call this afternoon when an engineer told me that sky have a sending limit of 50 mails an hour and if you exceed this your account is locked automatically for 24 hours. I appreciate the attempts to reduce spam mail etc etc but you think someone could have told me this straight away yesterday, saving me 2 days of frustrating phonecalls! and fruitless attempts to reconfigure everything and send test mails etc etc.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: UKOnline to Sky Migration - both active?

      OR because both use the same radius servers/network and so both run on either UKOL or Sky...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      eaglesfan's Avatar
      eaglesfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UKOnline to Sky Migration - both active?

      Quote Originally Posted by robn170 View Post
      got it sorted now.. called UKO and they disconnected my ID. Then I called Sky and they switched me onto ADSL2+ (after the pain of getting thru L1 who didn't know what G.dmt was). Now connected at 8mbps and getting 800k downloads. My line won't support over 8, but I could only get 7 previously.
      Wow that was easy enough.
      -Danny Ross

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION