Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    How to completely change your IP?

    This is a discussion on How to completely change your IP? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; In my current sky...whenever i restart my router it always changes like that last 2-3 numbers... i wanna change it ...

    1. #1
      Rhymes69's Avatar
      Rhymes69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How to completely change your IP?

      In my current sky...whenever i restart my router it always changes like that last 2-3 numbers...

      i wanna change it fully...just once...is it possible with sky?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      I doubt if you would be able to change all the numbers, but if you power off your router for about 5 minutes then switch it on, this will give you the best chance of changing most of them. I can't think why you think this is important in any way, the addresses you have had at any particular time will still be logged to you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I can't think why you think this is important in any way, the addresses you have had at any particular time will still be logged to you.
      maybe its because a site has blocked his IP address and he wants to get back on that site... ??
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


    5. #4
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      If you're blocked from as site just clear your cache, delete your cookies and turn your router off for 10 minutes.
      Or just use a proxy server.

    6. #5
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      As far as I know you can't change the Ip completely. It's the Sky server that gives it out randomly.. Even if you changed it... after rebooting your router it would change back... Kinda pointless really.

      But no, don't think it's possible to change your ip....

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      ^^^^^^^^^^^
      Ofcourse you can! What will not change is the first set of numbers ie 90. all the others can and do change. If you are not with Sky you may have a fixed IP which will not change. Sky do not have fixed IPs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      ^^^^^^^^^^^
      Ofcourse you can! What will not change is the first set of numbers ie 90. all the others can and do change. If you are not with Sky you may have a fixed IP which will not change. Sky do not have fixed IPs.
      You can manually change the routers IP address?

      I don't think it's possible. But I do know Sky is Dynamic Ip and changes each time the router gains PPP.

    9. #8
      eaglesfan's Avatar
      eaglesfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      vip72DOTcom. Private HTTP and Socks proxies.
      -Danny Ross

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      You can manually change the routers IP address?
      Where, exactly did you see any reference to manually changing the IP?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      How "sticky" your Sky IP is may be, to an extent, how busy/full your exchange is. As an example, in the couple of years I had SkyBB, only the last octet ever changed. Others (in bigger/busier exchanges?) have found that all the octets other than the first changed form time to time.

      Again, whilst some people seem to hold onto their IP after reboots/resyncs, most don't.

      If using a Sky router/firmware, clicking the "Sky Test" button will generally result in a fresh IP.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION