Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    How to completely change your IP?

    This is a discussion on How to completely change your IP? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have often wondered how Sky addresses are allocated. Do they depend on your exchange or the central servers? At ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      I have often wondered how Sky addresses are allocated. Do they depend on your exchange or the central servers? At one time I thought they came from the servers as Who is your IP and Speedtest.net placed me in Wales or the West country, but now I am consistently placed on the second hole of the local golf course. Have they got a 'spy in the sky'

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      _lecro_'s Avatar
      _lecro_ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sharrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      Just for my information,does anyone know if its possible to request a static IP or pay extra for one with sky ?

    4. #13
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: How to completely change your IP?

      aFAIK sky don't do static IP addresses.

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How to completely change your IP?

      for definite, Sky do NOT offer static IPs...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      Ke1th's Avatar
      Ke1th is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to completely change your IP?

      The last octet will change depending on the number of devices connected to your router. Eg. PC 192.168.0.1, Laptop .2, PS3 .3. Ipod .4.

    7. #16
      _lecro_'s Avatar
      _lecro_ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sharrow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to completely change your IP?

      Thats a shame ... guess i can live with it though

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How to completely change your IP?

      Quote Originally Posted by Ke1th View Post
      The last octet will change depending on the number of devices connected to your router. Eg. PC 192.168.0.1, Laptop .2, PS3 .3. Ipod .4.
      However, that would then be classed as an internal IP and not a Public IP that the OP was asking about.

      All Sky Public IPs begin with 90.xx.xx.xx etc and are not static.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How to completely change your IP?

      Eg. PC 192.168.0.1, Laptop .2, PS3 .3. Ipod .4.
      Not a very good advert for a CS Advisor, apart from getting the wrong end of the stick does he not know the router's default address is 192.168.0.1

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: How to completely change your IP?

      Wouldn't be the first Sky agent to start with pretty basic errors then go on to quadruple their knowledge with a bit of judicious reading of the forum


      @Ke1th

      Welcome to the forum and thanks for your contribution. It is sincerely appreciated. I hope you will carry on reading and posting help to other forum members.

      On a side note though: you might want to consider removing the statement that you're a Sky CSA from your posts.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION