Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

    This is a discussion on Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Not sure as i've never turned my security off but you should see one in the router interface I guess, ...

    1. #11
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

      Not sure as i've never turned my security off but you should see one in the router interface I guess, or the option to generate/create one.
      As for disconnecting definately try a different channel, mainly because they are all shipped with channel 6 being the active one, so interference is pretty common.


      EDIT: Also check the info here with regards to your disconnections.
      Last edited by x LAGER LOUT x; 18-09-08 at 08:56 PM. Reason: Added to


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      FIZZER25's Avatar
      FIZZER25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

      ok so messing about with the settings was causing the laptop to disconnect so where im at is

      i have allowed mac address of the xbox was told by xbox to disable mac filtering but dont know where to look for this on the router settings

      forwarded the relevant ports

      only connect to wireless when the password is disabled but the same password works when im connecting with the laptop

      sick of it now sky tech support wont give me any help netgear wont either or xbox live support feel like im goin round in circles!!!

    4. #13
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

      Port forwarding and Mac address filtering aren't need mate. Reset your router back to standard by holding a pin in the little hole at the back for 10 secs.

      Then connect with your laptop and check your router settings, just to make sure all is reset. Make sure UPnP is enabled, and also change the wireless channel to either 9 or 11 while your there.
      This should also default the security back to WPA and the key that is printed on the little card should now be the one that is needed.

      Now on your xbox go to the system blade of the dashboard, select "Network settings" and then "Restore to factory defaults" (this only affects any network settings so don't worry).

      Now you need to start again and follow the first steps I posted which were;
      1) Plug wireless adapter into rear usb port on xbox.
      2) Switch xbox on and check that light is red on adapter.
      3) Go to System blade of dashboard.
      4) Select Network settings.
      5) Select Edit settings.
      6) Press down twice to highlight Wireless settings.
      7) Press A. Your Xbox will now scan for wireless networks.
      8) Select your network and press A. Enter your WPA security code.
      9) You should be ale to connect now.
      10) Test connection to check NAT status.

      If this still doesn't work then you need to be looking at things which may be causing interference, such a cordless phones, microwaves etc.
      It would be a good idea (if possible) to connect your xbox directly to the router via ethernet, just to see if these are wireless issues or general wiring problems, or even a problem with the router itself.

    5. #14
      FIZZER25's Avatar
      FIZZER25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

      Quote Originally Posted by x LAGER LOUT x View Post
      Port forwarding and Mac address filtering aren't need mate. Reset your router back to standard by holding a pin in the little hole at the back for 10 secs.

      Then connect with your laptop and check your router settings, just to make sure all is reset. Make sure UPnP is enabled, and also change the wireless channel to either 9 or 11 while your there.
      This should also default the security back to WPA and the key that is printed on the little card should now be the one that is needed.

      Now on your xbox go to the system blade of the dashboard, select "Network settings" and then "Restore to factory defaults" (this only affects any network settings so don't worry).

      Now you need to start again and follow the first steps I posted which were;
      1) Plug wireless adapter into rear usb port on xbox.
      2) Switch xbox on and check that light is red on adapter.
      3) Go to System blade of dashboard.
      4) Select Network settings.
      5) Select Edit settings.
      6) Press down twice to highlight Wireless settings.
      7) Press A. Your Xbox will now scan for wireless networks.
      8) Select your network and press A. Enter your WPA security code.
      9) You should be ale to connect now.
      10) Test connection to check NAT status.

      If this still doesn't work then you need to be looking at things which may be causing interference, such a cordless phones, microwaves etc.
      It would be a good idea (if possible) to connect your xbox directly to the router via ethernet, just to see if these are wireless issues or general wiring problems, or even a problem with the router itself.

      cheers for your help mate it really is much appreciated ill give it a try after work tomorrow to see if i can make any further progress im fed up of it tonight and am close to smashing it up

      havent touched live for months but now i no i cant use it im determined to fix it

    6. #15
      FIZZER25's Avatar
      FIZZER25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

      Changed to channel 9 and it has connected finally!!!

      Now its flickering between 1 bar on the xbox and 2 the laptop's signal is still excellent.

      Is there any tips to improve the signal strength?

      Used channel 9 perhaps trying different channels?

      11 wouldnt work at all.

    7. #16
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

      Try every channel if you have to, it's a bit trial and error but at least you're getting there!

    8. #17
      FIZZER25's Avatar
      FIZZER25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

      Quote Originally Posted by x LAGER LOUT x View Post
      Try every channel if you have to, it's a bit trial and error but at least you're getting there!
      I will try every channel set the 360 up in the same room as the router and it has full bars of signal. Any tips to get better signal? Shame I cant keep it in that room, am I likely to get a better signal on a different channel or can i get some sort of booster?

    9. #18
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

      I don't think you can get a booster as such, however you should be able to buy an extended length antennae for the router (assuming that router has one). But I would try all the channels first, you might get lucky.
      Failing that, it may be worth investing in a set of Homeplugs.

    10. #19
      FIZZER25's Avatar
      FIZZER25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

      Quote Originally Posted by x LAGER LOUT x View Post
      I don't think you can get a booster as such, however you should be able to buy an extended length antennae for the router (assuming that router has one). But I would try all the channels first, you might get lucky.
      Failing that, it may be worth investing in a set of Homeplugs.
      Think the router's antennae is internal in fact im certain it is. I'll try all the channels tomorrow when i closed the door i couldnt even sign in to LIVE least im making some progress finally.

    11. #20
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Problem connecting to XBOX live with Netgear v2

      The easiest way is to fit a couple of homeplugs, gaming really stinks on wireless, you will get lag and dropout sooner or later and it is always just as you are winning

      I started to use homeplugs about a year ago and it sorted out all my gaming problems in one foul swoop, you can even get ones that have a wireless point on the (a little aerial on the plug) to extend the wireless range for laptops etc. It's as good as being plugged directly into the router via ethernet.

      40 from e-bay for the 85Mbps Solwise just do a search or PC world do the for a little more.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION