Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 35

    Line upgrade...?

    This is a discussion on Line upgrade...? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; When you remove the faceplate are your other extensions dead. I ask as there should be a difference between the ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Line upgrade...?

      When you remove the faceplate are your other extensions dead. I ask as there should be a difference between the test socket and the extension. If there is not, there is a good chance it is wired incorrectly. Sort this out before you ring BT or you risk being charged, if the fault is on your side of the Test socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      no_name's Avatar
      no_name is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line upgrade...?

      What do you mean by the other extensions?

      Actually, I'd probably be better trying my dads laptop on it tomorrow, I'll see what the stats are like and I'll post them here.

    4. #23
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Line upgrade...?

      By other extensions he means any other places you can plug in a phone. any extra phone points in the house. ie. in the kitchen or bedroom.

    5. #24
      no_name's Avatar
      no_name is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line upgrade...?

      When I plugged the router into the test socket and used the laptop, I got these stats...



      And in the master socket I got these



      Here's the stats from the extension in the bedroom



      As you can see, it's a lot faster in the test socket, and its even about twice as good in the master. I'd be happy with 1500kbps to be honest.

    6. #25
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      940
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Line upgrade...?

      Do you only have one phone in the house, the one that plugs into the master socket or do you have extensions in the house as well.

      Remove all extensions from the master socket and ONLY have a single phone plugged in.

      If the noise is still there then call BT and report noise on the line.

      Regards
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    7. #26
      no_name's Avatar
      no_name is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line upgrade...?

      Yeah I only have one phone in the house, but it's still making the noise.

      I'm sorry if this sounds silly, it probably does, but can you stay plugged into the test socket? I realise having the faceplate off will make the extensions in the house dead, but I wouldn't be using them if I get these homeplug things, and the speed increase would be great.

    8. #27
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      940
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Line upgrade...?

      Yes there is nothing stopping you just using the test socket, its a direct connection to the incoming line but if the noise is still there then contact BT and report a noise on the line asap.

      Once the noise has been sorted out, the speed should increase and then plug in the face place and see how it goes.

      Regards
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    9. #28
      no_name's Avatar
      no_name is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Line upgrade...?

      Okay cheers for the help.

      Btw, since I don't have a clue, someone said about a filtered faceplate... is this what I'm looking for?

      And for the homeplugs, are these okay? I can't really afford the 200mbps ones but if it makes that much of a difference then I'd be willing to spend the extra cash.

    10. #29
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      940
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Line upgrade...?

      I presume you have extensions in the house running from the master to a room/s, if thats the case get BT to sort the noise out and then go from there.

      Once the noise is sorted plug the extension/s back in and plug the PC into that and see how it goes. The problem with homeplugs they run at 85Mbps in your case, the ones thet you provided above and if you use an extension from the master its as if your running direct from the master so its a lot, lot better in turms of speed.

      Get BT to sort the noise and go from there thats the best bet and the first port of call.

      If needs be after the noise is sorted, purchase new BT cable and run new cable to each extension/s and at the end of the extension thats needed for the PC use a filtered face plate, there do help and cut down noise.

      But as I stated above, you cant do anymore until BT sort the noise out.

      Regards

      PS,

      The filtered plate above (in your post) is what you need and they are the best thats available but there are cheaper out there.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    11. #30
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Line upgrade...?

      Those homeplugs are the ones I use and are perfect for the job, they are way faster than your ADSL speeds even at a full 16Mb you would have 69Mb spare.

      You only need the faster ones if you are moving large files around the network.

      As for the faceplate, have a look for one of Runitdirect's posts, he sells them, He may even put a link to the correct item here for you to follow (hint)
      Last edited by Smithy99; 19-09-08 at 10:36 AM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION