Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Wired / Wireless speed issue

    This is a discussion on Wired / Wireless speed issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Had my connection switched on, on Friday and have noticed a curious problem that has my pulling my ...

    1. #1
      villz's Avatar
      villz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wired / Wireless speed issue

      Hi all,

      Had my connection switched on, on Friday and have noticed a curious problem that has my pulling my hair out.

      When I have a wired connection to the router, I'm pulling about 12 000 kb/s consistently. However as soon as I switch over to a wireless connection, the speed drops to 500-1000 kbs, despite pulling 5/5 bars of strength. The connection appears to spike as I run my test, but averages out at that low value. I'm using the BBMax Speedtest and my flatmates are pulling 5000+kb/s with no problems.

      I have tried:
      - Changing the channel
      - Moving the router to various parts of the house
      - Updating wireless drivers
      - Rolling back wireless drivers
      - Disabling IPv6
      - TCPOptimizer
      - Countless restarts

      I'm running Vista Home Premium and my wireless card is an Atheros AR5007EG Driver version 7.3.1.61 (dated 14th/07/2007).

      Here are my router stats just for reference:

      System Up Time: 05:21:33
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 209345 363031 0 2137 24503 05:19:50
      LAN 100M/Full 280919 143369 0 20214 1192 05:21:29
      WLAN 11M/54M 45765 35386 0 7482 1797 01:42:50
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16 db 4 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 17 db

      Please guys, I'm at wits end. Does anyone have any ideas about this?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Wired / Wireless speed issue

      With such a lovely line as you have, why would you want to slow down your through-put down by using wireless?.
      However if you must you must you could try moving the router up a bit higher, or rotating it, but the best method would be to use cable or mains network adaptors

    4. #3
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wired / Wireless speed issue

      If your flatmates are getting good speeds from the same connection that you're getting poor speeds from, try the manufacturers website to see if there is a more up to date driver for your wireless card.

    5. #4
      villz's Avatar
      villz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wired / Wireless speed issue

      Brian - Because I have a laptop that I like to move around the house often. Also, I don't think that just rotating the router or antenna would be responsible for my connection dropping to about 10% of its wired capacity!!!! Especially considering my flatmates get vastly improved wireless results, which indicates this is a local problem on my machine.

      LagerLout - I've checked the manufacturers website but couldn't find any drivers, and WindowsUpdate says I have the most recent version anyway.

      I'm thinking it might be a bit more of an indepth solution than just updating drivers, but any more ideas would be gratefully appreciated.
      Last edited by villz; 15-09-08 at 08:15 PM.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Wired / Wireless speed issue

      it's just the nature of wireless...and one of the reasons as to why i flat refuse to use it!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      villz's Avatar
      villz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wired / Wireless speed issue

      The nature of wireless?

      I used the same laptop with our old broadband connection (Orange), not to mention other wireless networks and achieve much better performance

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Wired / Wireless speed issue

      the nature of wireless as in it'll work fine on one network and be useless on the next...

      ethernet all day, and i have a laptop which is wireless N and still refuse to use it!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      villz's Avatar
      villz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wired / Wireless speed issue

      Ok I'm glad you've decided to settle on using a wired solution, but that doesn't help my predicament. Anyone else have any ideas that I could chase up?

      Is there some sort of generic Vista wireless driver that might provide better results?

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Wired / Wireless speed issue

      just reading your OP, how did you use TCPOptimser as it's for XP only?...

      it might be router related but seeing as your housemates get better i'd point it to a pc-specific issue...

      perhaps try booting in safe mode and see what happens...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      villz's Avatar
      villz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wired / Wireless speed issue

      Yeh I know, just I thought I'd run it anyway, just incase there were a few reg keys in common between the 2 versions. Did nought anyway so no loss.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION