Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 28 of 28

    Sky Router Workgroup name

    This is a discussion on Sky Router Workgroup name within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; On the XP machine. I haven't got my Vista lappy up ATM!...

    1. #21
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      On the XP machine. I haven't got my Vista lappy up ATM!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!



    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      Vista calls it network center.

    4. #23
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      on Vista, click on the 2 monitors in the system tray and go to 'Network & Sharing Center'

      at the bottom, it has the options like file sharing, folder sharing etc...might need to play about with them a bit...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      It could be a firewall setting, try turning the firewall off. Also you should really be set for a Private network. Setting it for Public increases the security, which may cause problems on a home network.

      Just to confirm that the is no setting in the router for a Workgroup name, only the SSID, which should not concern connecting 2 PCs. I think BT do this to ensure that every PC has the same Workgroup name, to cut down on support calls. What your Workgroup is called does not matter as long as all PCs have the same one and each PC has a different name.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      On Vista, if you want other machines on your LAN to see you, you must set 'Public' not Private.
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      Extract from Vista Network Settings
      Location type

      Public
      Discovery of other computers and devices will be limited, and the use of the network by some programs may be restricted.


      Private
      This allows you to see computers and devices, while making your computer discoverable.



      I don't have any problems using Private

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      Isitme, No It's me!

      Brain fart! Got that the wrong way round didn't I!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    9. #28
      paul thompson's Avatar
      paul thompson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BEESTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bramcote
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      I think I've got it now.

      As the Sky router uses a different IP range to the BT Hub you may/will need to remake all the shares you have on both machines!
      Yep, that was it, all sorted now. Cheers.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION