Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 28

    Sky Router Workgroup name

    This is a discussion on Sky Router Workgroup name within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The router does not need a workgroup name, I have 4 PCs networked at home through a Sky router and ...

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      The router does not need a workgroup name, I have 4 PCs networked at home through a Sky router and all I had to do was enable sharing on the PCs, get them onto the same workgroup and then look in my network places list.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      paul thompson's Avatar
      paul thompson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BEESTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bramcote
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      Ah, wait a minute. Are you using wifi?
      Yes on the Vista laptop but the XP machine is Ethernet

    4. #13
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      Is you Vista laptop actually connecting wirelessly to the router? If it is then your network should work. Can the laptop go to 192.168.0.1 wirelessly and also do you have any firewalls running?

    5. #14
      paul thompson's Avatar
      paul thompson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BEESTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bramcote
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Is you Vista laptop actually connecting wirelessly to the router? If it is then your network should work. Can the laptop go to 192.168.0.1 wirelessly and also do you have any firewalls running?
      Yes the laptop is fine, I'm actually on it right now

    6. #15
      paul thompson's Avatar
      paul thompson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BEESTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bramcote
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      Just no network

    7. #16
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      I think I've got it now.

      As the Sky router uses a different IP range to the BT Hub you may/will need to remake all the shares you have on both machines!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    8. #17
      paul thompson's Avatar
      paul thompson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BEESTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bramcote
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      How do I "remake all the shares" ?

    9. #18
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      Quote Originally Posted by paul thompson View Post
      How do I "remake all the shares" ?
      My Network Places!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    10. #19
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      814
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      It may also be the firewall(s) on the PCs. They will be detecting the changed network and it will no longer be "trusted".

    11. #20
      paul thompson's Avatar
      paul thompson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BEESTON
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Bramcote
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Workgroup name

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      My Network Places!
      on the XP machine ? as vista doesn't really have my network places

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION