Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Some Problems regarding Broadband

    This is a discussion on Some Problems regarding Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ^^^^^^ Your NM has dropped to a negative value and is unable to express it so it shows a figure ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Some Problems regarding Broadband

      ^^^^^^
      Your NM has dropped to a negative value and is unable to express it so it shows a figure of 2147483647. You connection will have dropped. Having your line transferred to G.DMT may make it more stable.

      Edit - Not sure, but I think this may be the largest known prime number. Don't know why it is used in this context.
      Last edited by Isitme; 16-09-08 at 01:20 PM. Reason: observation

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      chriswilliams680's Avatar
      chriswilliams680 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208 - LDN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Problems regarding Broadband

      what sort of speeds should i expect

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8496 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36 db 9.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 17 db

      aswith tiscali it was allways a connection speed of 7128KPBS Downsteam and 488KPBS upsteam

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Some Problems regarding Broadband

      With your attenuation on ADSL2+ you could get 10-12Mb. I think you should get your Master socket fixed before you do anything else. There is no other way to find out if the problem is with your internal or external line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      chriswilliams680's Avatar
      chriswilliams680 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208 - LDN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Problems regarding Broadband

      anyone know any good Comapnies that will fix or replace the master socket for under 75

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Some Problems regarding Broadband

      You could do it yourself for a lot less than 75

      See if you can spot a BT van anywhere and see if the BT guy will do it as a bribe.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #16
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Some Problems regarding Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      You could do it yourself for a lot less than 75

      See if you can spot a BT van anywhere and see if the BT guy will do it as a bribe.
      Get one from Run-it-Direct, and mention that you were recomended from this site. Get a filter faceplate at the same time. They are not hard to change. Only Openreach are supposed to change these, but we all live in the real world, and loads of people do.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Some Problems regarding Broadband

      Unscrew the 2 wires from the unit, note which goes to A -B, unscrew the unit from the wall, keep the screws. Screw the 2 wires back on to the new unit and screw it to the wall. With a bit of luck the old screws holes will line up, you will not even need a drill.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Some Problems regarding Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by chriswilliams680 View Post
      what sort of speeds should i expect

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8496 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36 db 9.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 17 db

      aswith tiscali it was allways a connection speed of 7128KPBS Downsteam and 488KPBS upsteam
      with a noise margin of 7... 8Mb If you call up asking for more CST won't do it because your SNR is already low.
      If it drops lower it will build errors on your line and could give you issues.
      If I was you I'd get it capped to 8Mb or even 7.5Mb.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION