Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    speed issue

    This is a discussion on speed issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ok just after a reformat i was downloading at 320 kbps now for some reason it wont go past 240 ...

    1. #1
      bullseye1975's Avatar
      bullseye1975 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cannock
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down speed issue

      ok just after a reformat i was downloading at 320 kbps now for some reason it wont go past 240 kbps any ideas ? been on the blower to sky but as usual might aswell got the info off my 3 year old

      dunno if its worth mentioning im using this too

      Firmware Version V1.03.87 (CU3.04)



      System Up Time 00:06:14
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7564 12617 0 1586 57907 00:04:43
      LAN 10M/100M 13425 8394 0 45915 1947 00:06:08
      WLAN 11M/54M 102 0 0 59 0 00:05:59

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2230 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.5 db 41.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.7 db 11.5 db
      Last edited by bullseye1975; 13-09-08 at 12:50 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: speed issue





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: speed issue

      Downloading using what ? If its Torrents I'm sure you are aware that the dl speed is a product of the number of seeders, which may have altered.


    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: speed issue

      If you are not running Vista, download and run TCPOptimiser from the link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      bullseye1975's Avatar
      bullseye1975 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cannock
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed issue

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/322898430.png

      thats my speed test and its gone down again

      thats after a reboot using tcp optimiser too !

    7. #6
      bullseye1975's Avatar
      bullseye1975 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cannock
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed issue

      Quote Originally Posted by bullseye1975 View Post
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/322898430.png

      thats my speed test and its gone down again

      thats after a reboot using tcp optimiser too !





      another change



      System Up Time 00:41:48
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 26181 39936 0 1661 20385 00:40:16
      LAN 10M/100M 40235 26605 0 20027 1863 00:41:43
      WLAN 11M/54M 211 0 0 16 0 00:41:35


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2222 kbps 400 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.5 db 41.4 db
      Noise Margin 8.1 db 12.0 db

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: speed issue

      Your connection speed is not too bad. Could you take your detailed stats? You can do this using the CU.3.04 firmware. A set taken from your normal position and another set taken after running a few hours in the Test socket may show something.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      bullseye1975's Avatar
      bullseye1975 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cannock
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed issue

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your connection speed is not too bad. Could you take your detailed stats? You can do this using the CU.3.04 firmware. A set taken from your normal position and another set taken after running a few hours in the Test socket may show something.
      ive just flashed back to previous firmware to see if there would be a change
      but to no avail grrrrrrrrrrrr 80 kbps down on download speed !

    10. #9
      bullseye1975's Avatar
      bullseye1975 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: cannock
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed issue

      WELL AFTER GETTING THROUGH TO TIER 2 AFTER 67 MINS ON THE PHONE THEY DECIDE TO TELL ME THEY HAVE STOPPED TRYING TO FORCE MORE SPEED ON MY LINE ( I WAS GETTING 320KBPS MAXED ) IM NOW ONLY GETTING 250 KBPS MAX AND THERES NOTHING MORE THEY CAN DO SO I GOTTA STICK WITH IT OR MOVE OR WAIT TILL MY EXCHANGE AREA GETS UPGRADED !


      WHAT A CROCK

    11. #10
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed issue

      Well if your like can't hold it then nothing Sky can do.
      But at 2222Kbps you should be able to download ok.

      Try run a Netstat in command prompt.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION