Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    SNR getting lower.

    This is a discussion on SNR getting lower. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just to add to Brian's comment, if you do pay rental to Sky, call 08442 410 515 and make sure ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SNR getting lower.

      Just to add to Brian's comment, if you do pay rental to Sky, call 08442 410 515 and make sure you get through to the Sky Talk Team, not the broadband team.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      DeclanTM's Avatar
      DeclanTM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSARD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear DG834PN
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Stevenston
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SNR getting lower.

      Hi,

      Again sorry for the confusion but my line rental is payed to BT. However Sky said last night if BT was still being unhelpful they would be more than happy to move the line rental over to Sky and then they would start dealing with the faulty line. Right now that seems the most sensible plan as the BT engineer charges are crazy.

      When you say poor joint does this mean internally or something outside my house? Also please not the SNR gets higher not lower when the phone is lifted.

      Cheers,
      Declan
      Sky+ HD, Sky Broadband Max LLU, Netgear DG834PN

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: SNR getting lower.

      If the line rental is paid to BT, and you have line noise at the test socket, then you can report this to BT. The poor joint may well be in the external line, the BT bit

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SNR getting lower.

      Also please not the SNR gets higher not lower when the phone is lifted.
      I think this is one of the reasons Brian is suggesting a poor joint. I don't know the technical reason, but this is one of the symptoms.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: SNR getting lower.

      yes, a poor joint wether badly made or damaged, can cause all sorts of problems with BB. Some say that it acts as a rectifier and demodulates part of the ADSL signal and this is the noise you hear when the router is connected. I'm not so sure myself, but the point is a deffective joint or damaged cable will cause problems for BB.

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: SNR getting lower.

      Quote Originally Posted by DeclanTM View Post
      Hi,

      Again sorry for the confusion but my line rental is payed to BT. However Sky said last night if BT was still being unhelpful they would be more than happy to move the line rental over to Sky and then they would start dealing with the faulty line. Right now that seems the most sensible plan as the BT engineer charges are crazy.

      When you say poor joint does this mean internally or something outside my house? Also please not the SNR gets higher not lower when the phone is lifted.

      Cheers,
      Declan
      I know it sounds like a sensible option but in my opinion it isn't

      Sky will still use BT to repair the fault, it will just mean going through another body to try to get it sorted (and by all accounts they Sky drag their feet). If it does for some reason turn out to be your internal wiring, you will get the bill anyway.

      Ring BT, tell them you have a voice fault and that it seems worse then it is wet outside and crackles. DO NOT MENTION ADSL. When the engineer comes show him the problem and explain it affects your Broadband, whislt plying him with Tea/Coffee and bacon butties.

      That's exactly what I did a few years ago when I had the same problem as you which turned out to be a poor joint at either the cabinet or the pole and I'm now getting the full 16.4Mbps

    8. #17
      DeclanTM's Avatar
      DeclanTM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSARD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear DG834PN
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Stevenston
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SNR getting lower.

      OK, thanks for the help. Will get another phone to test the master test socket with today and if the noise is still there I will phone BT and get someone out.
      Sky+ HD, Sky Broadband Max LLU, Netgear DG834PN

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION