Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Embarassingly Slow Speeds

    This is a discussion on Embarassingly Slow Speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; And what speed do you see with ethernet? Is it the same? When you say your DL speed is 8Mb ...

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Embarassingly Slow Speeds

      And what speed do you see with ethernet? Is it the same? When you say your DL speed is 8Mb are you working on the assumption that you are getting that or do you know you are getting that? ADSL is an "Up to XMb service" and speeds are not guaranteed. You will need to look in the router stats to see your sync speed.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Juggler's Avatar
      Juggler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Embarassingly Slow Speeds

      An update:

      No improvement. Been on with tech support most of the day and they just keep telling me to repeat the steps I've already taken. On the plus side, three times I was told I'm good at connection troubleshooting (as if that's consolation for it taking me a week to patch a game :P)

      Just for grins, I decided to try this


    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Embarassingly Slow Speeds

      If your stats are the same as before you are on test speed, you need to get to CST, the old tier 3, they have a better understanding.

      Ring them and refuse to hang up until you have spoken to someone in that department. If you ring very late on you stand a better chance.

    5. #14
      Juggler's Avatar
      Juggler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Embarassingly Slow Speeds

      I got through to a lovely Irish woman just now who said something about line stabilising... I'm so glad I go back to uni tomorrow with a gig connection on campus, seriously :lol:

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Embarassingly Slow Speeds

      She may have been nice but she just fobbed you off there is not training or stabilisation on mid or max. Even if there was if wouldn't affect you as you are stuck on test speed.

      Ring again and don't be messed about, you need to speak to CST

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Embarassingly Slow Speeds

      If your stats are similar to your first post you are still on Test speed. If you are and Sky support can't see it, then I despair. Are you getting through to CST, or are you being stopped at Tier 1. If you are not getting past T1, ask to speak to a manager or supervisor and tell them you want put through to the Customer Support Team as you are getting no satisfaction from T1. Also tell them that you are prepared to take this up with Mr Darroch, their CEO, if you do not get action.

      If you are getting through to CST, then I suggest you phone Customer Relations and complain bitterly.

      Apologies to any of the Sky bods on here who may take offence, but this is really ridiculous.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Juggler's Avatar
      Juggler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Embarassingly Slow Speeds

      Unfortunately I have other things I need to be doing, as said in my previous post, I have to get back to university before 8am tomorrow. So frantic packing... I tried once more and got "Have you tried restarting your router?"

      I almost cried.

    9. #18
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Embarassingly Slow Speeds

      Well when you get back from Uni you will still be in the same boat, time to start loosing you cool and INSIST they put you through to CST, get some names of the people you are talking to, that usually ensures they do the right thing.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Embarassingly Slow Speeds

      It would be worth trying again later tonight. I am fairly sure CST could fix this in minutes. As Smith says, get names if you can.

      If you feel you have had enough of phoning them(and I don't blame you) set everything out in a Sky.com - Sky Help Centre>Contact Us>Feedback - Broadband Kana It will take longer, but with a bit of luck it will be fixed the next time you want to use it. If you do this make sure you leave the router plugged in and switched on.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Embarassingly Slow Speeds

      Honestly thats ridiculous that you havn't even got through to CST! You are on test speeds and it needs to be increased, if it will increase.

      But seriously WTF are T1 doing if they aren't even escalating this!

      I don't know if there are any other CST peeps here but if there are i'm sure they can back me up on this:
      T1 suck

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION