Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 68

    Are sky now throttling connect?

    This is a discussion on Are sky now throttling connect? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Back on my old (backup) router: Download Speed: 6924 kbps (865.5 KB/sec ) Upload Speed: 373 kbps (46.6 KB/sec ) ...

    1. #11
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky now throttling connect?

      Back on my old (backup) router:

      Download Speed: 6924 kbps (865.5 KB/sec ) Upload Speed: 373 kbps (46.6 KB/sec )

      Namesco BroadbandMax Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL connection speed
      BT Infinity


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Are sky now throttling connect?

      Quote Originally Posted by BuckleZ View Post
      Download Speed: 250 kbps (31.3 KB/sec ) Upload Speed: 381 kbps (47.6 KB/sec )

      Namesco BroadbandMax Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL connection speed


      There you go, solid proof.

      SKY throttle heavily on connect, and its on a username basis
      Or your router has an issue?

      To the best of my knowledge Sky do not use the router username or MAC. If they did all of the routers on ebay would not connect onto their network. As they would be able to cancel them off for non connection to the network within a certain time period.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #13
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky now throttling connect?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Or your router has an issue?
      Cheers NR you beat me to it ! !

    5. #14
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky now throttling connect?

      Its not the router believe me. Its cause i downloadeded quite a lot int he last 24hrs. The most ive downloaded in such a short period.

      Would of been nice to know this happened though
      BT Infinity

    6. #15
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky now throttling connect?

      Why do you guys suck up skys backside so much and defend them? Do they pay you to do that?

      What i have is solid proof.
      BT Infinity

    7. #16
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Are sky now throttling connect?

      Namesco uses Port 80 for the test. I would doubt very much that Port 80 would be throttled, as that is what the internet uses to work.

      Interesting though, as something isn't right.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Are sky now throttling connect?

      Quote Originally Posted by BuckleZ View Post
      Why do you guys suck up skys backside so much and defend them? Do they pay you to do that?

      What i have is solid proof.
      lol

      What sort of question is that?

      Because I have a different POV I suck up to Sky? Behave!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #18
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky now throttling connect?

      Quote Originally Posted by BuckleZ View Post
      Why do you guys suck up skys backside so much and defend them? Do they pay you to do that?

      What i have is solid proof.
      The proof you have is that one router syncs better that the other.

      mmm Router problem maybe

    10. #19
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky now throttling connect?

      Just cause they throttle port 80, doesn't mean 'the internet' won't work.

      It works, but just at 300k

      Youtube etc keeps buffering.
      BT Infinity

    11. #20
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky now throttling connect?

      They both sync the same, you guys getting paid by sky to stick up for them?
      BT Infinity

     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION