Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    g.dmt or adsl2+

    This is a discussion on g.dmt or adsl2+ within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have one extention, but as you have guessed, it does not work. So the fact that there is no ...

    1. #11
      macfap75's Avatar
      macfap75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: g.dmt or adsl2+

      i have one extention, but as you have guessed, it does not work. So the fact that there is no wires going into the faceplate is irrelevent to my previous sync speed problem?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: g.dmt or adsl2+

      You should get almost the same result from the face plate as the test socket if there are no hardwired extensions. If you don't, it suggests a faulty faceplate. Replacing it with an ADSL filtered faceplate would probably solve your problem.

      Try it from the faceplate again, you may have disturbed a bit of corrosion which was causing the problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      macfap75's Avatar
      macfap75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: g.dmt or adsl2+

      ill just get a new faceplate, my routers right next to the master socket anyway, dnt need the extention. Thanks alot.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: g.dmt or adsl2+

      Did you try the stats with the faceplate on?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      macfap75's Avatar
      macfap75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: g.dmt or adsl2+

      Faceplate off...
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 760 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19 db 4 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 18 db

      Faceplate back on...
      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 760 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19 db 4 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 18 db

      But (im going to sound like a total idiot but hey) before i first tried the test socket, my sky tv cable went in to the faceplate socket first, then the microfilter....thus, causing all the problems i had... You wouldnt believe im a computing student huh.

    7. #16
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: g.dmt or adsl2+

      Don't worry mate, we've all been there!! (well I have anyway) Now you know why Sky always start with a filter check when you phone them

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: g.dmt or adsl2+

      Yes, don't take it too hard, I would not be surprised if there are thousands doing what you did and don't realize their connection could be much faster with the filter properly placed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION