Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Please help ! :(

    This is a discussion on Please help ! :( within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It looks like you may have an intermittent fault in your wiring or main line. Try plugging into the Test ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help ! :(

      It looks like you may have an intermittent fault in your wiring or main line. Try plugging into the Test socket, which is behind the faceplate of your Master socket. The Master will be the first box on the line into your house. This will rule out internal wiring faults.

      With your attenuation you should sync at over twice the speed you are, so something is wrong somewhere. The fact that you are on Connect makes it likely your line was not properly trained after the first connection. You should try the official BT speed test, as the results will ghive some more information to go on. to do this -

      Go to BT Speedtest enter your phone number then your ADSL username. This will do an official BT speed test and show your present profile. Your ADSL username is <the LAN MAC number of your router, no colons, followed by> @skydsl You can also obtain this from the router by using one of the utilities available on the forum.

      You should be able to use this report when phone Sky, but it will depend on who takes your call as Sky TS do not seem to be trained for Connect customers. This tester is always busy, it could take several attempts to get on.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      seriousmoron's Avatar
      seriousmoron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help ! :(

      The occasional drops to 160kbps on the downstream side are usually related to a setup issue. Most likely damaged wiring or unfiltered equipment. Try testing from the test socket and see if the rate will stay stable. You should also be aware that as a connect customer your connection is governed by Bt's exchange software. Each time they sync rate drops to 160kbps the line rate , which governs the ip throughput and hence the speed, will drop to 135kbps to compensate.

      Onece the sync rate goes up again, the software will monitor the new rate before increasing the throughput. This can take 48-72hrs. Best bet is to get the setup right and leave the router on for a few days to allow the profile to adjust.

    4. #13
      mickyb_777's Avatar
      mickyb_777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207- Ebchester
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help ! :(

      thanks man, by leaving it on for a few days do you mean leaving it alone? or can i still use it? its up time is around 3 days now but the ADSL training period takes up to 10 days, thanks for all the help,

      SKY sent my new router today, but they sent another sagem f@st :@ liars lol, i dont think theyre aloud to issue Netgear routers anymore.
      <Insert useful tip here>

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help ! :(

      Have you tried the official speed test as I advised above. This will give an indication of what is wrong. Copy & Paste your results here if you have.

      Did you read the article linked in my post above and again here-
      Broadband - Help & Support

      Did the new router make any difference, I doubt if it would.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      mickyb_777's Avatar
      mickyb_777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207- Ebchester
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help ! :(

      havent even botherd new router mate, but strangley enough since the last time I called sky it seems to work more stabily, as my sync rate has increased even more. i will try the speed test now...

      seems like that link is dead :/
      <Insert useful tip here>

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help ! :(

      It works for me

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      mickyb_777's Avatar
      mickyb_777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207- Ebchester
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help ! :(

      No worries =] its working great since i last called, fingers crossed that thats it (Y)

      thanks for the help tho guys
      <Insert useful tip here>

    9. #18
      mickyb_777's Avatar
      mickyb_777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207- Ebchester
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help ! :(

      arghh man, its happend again, after all this time, its broke again and i dont know what to do . its been a perfect ten days, then today it forze kept disconecting and now the speed tests prove its running slow. however the routers download sync rate maintain around 1800.

      WHATS GOING ON!
      <Insert useful tip here>

    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Please help ! :(

      so run the BT speedtester and see what it says...no good asking for advice and then not taking it!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      mickyb_777's Avatar
      mickyb_777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207- Ebchester
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help ! :(

      okay, now that the link is working for me i have downloaded the 'small' file and what next?...
      <Insert useful tip here>

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION