Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 68

    Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

    This is a discussion on Is the speed I am getting reasonable? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all! I have recently switched to Sky Max (16MB) BB after moving house as I can't get Virgin here. ...

    1. #1
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Hi all!

      I have recently switched to Sky Max (16MB) BB after moving house as I can't get Virgin here. I used to be on the Virgin 20MB service.

      This is my very first experience using ADSL as I was on cable all the while. I did a quick check of my router status (I am using the new black Netgear modem) and have the details as follows :

      ADSL Firmware Version 6.02.01.00
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 12468 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Now it says that my DownStream is at roughly 12MBs. I did some speed tests online and I am getting slightly lower speeds. I am wondering if this is normal and acceptable?

      I think I am around 1.2miles (using Google maps) from my exchange (Dundee Steeple). I connected the modem to my Linksys router (into the Internet port) using an RJ45 ethernet cable. I then connect 2-3 computers via Ethernet on my Linksys router. I am doing this as the phone point is too far from my computers and I prefer using Ethernet vs WIFI for these PCs.

      My second question is will this affect the speed anyway?

      I just feel a bit unsure as I don't seem to be getting anywhere close to 16MBs.

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      You need to post yout Attenuation figure please.

      You say you DL a little less than the sync speed..... what is the actual figure?

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Welcome aboard.

      Now it says that my DownStream is at roughly 12MBs. I did some speed tests online and I am getting slightly lower speeds. I am wondering if this is normal and acceptable?
      I would expect to lose 10 - 15% of that speed in transmission overheads.

      The router says you are synched at 12468 kbps or roughly 12.4mb Anything over 10mb should show in the speedtests I would guess.

      If you have tried the test socket behind the master socket, and the 12.4mb is still the same, that's about the best you are going to get. You may live near an exchange, but that doesn't mean the copper cable follows the most logical route.

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to test your Master Socket




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      You need to post yout Attenuation figure please.

      You say you DL a little less than the sync speed..... what is the actual figure?
      Hi, Thanks for your reply.

      How do I show the Attenuation figure? And what do you mean by sync speed?

      Sorry, I am a total ADSL newbie

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to get your router statistics

      Read that page and the link on for the V2 router, which is the black one, it should explain how to get the stats.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Welcome aboard.



      I would expect to lose 10 - 15% of that speed in transmission overheads.

      The router says you are synched at 12468 kbps or roughly 12.4mb Anything over 10mb should show in the speedtests I would guess.

      If you have tried the test socket behind the master socket, and the 12.4mb is still the same, that's about the best you are going to get. You may live near an exchange, but that doesn't mean the copper cable follows the most logical route.

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to test your Master Socket
      Yeah, I am going to remove the BT faceplate and plug the Sky modem directly to the cable. And then I will reset the modem and see what happens. Thanks for the suggestion.

      Also, are there any accurate online speed tests? There are so many but I am currently using speedtest.net with Maidenhead as my reference server. I am getting roughly 52ms ping doing that.

    8. #7
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Post Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to get your router statistics

      Read that page and the link on for the V2 router, which is the black one, it should explain how to get the stats.
      Thanks again :P And here they are :

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 17749 22757 0 240 2193 03:11:51
      LAN 100M/Full 206779 142012 0 15747 1094 04:58:23
      WLAN 11M/54M 1440 0 0 8 0 04:58:10

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12468 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 8.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 16 db

      I still haven't removed the faceplate at this stage.

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Speedtesters are a best guess at that particular time.

      What's the result on ours? Its normally fairly accurate.

      Sky User - Unofficial Help and Support for Sky Broadband and everything Sky! - Broadband Packages




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by Shamus88 View Post
      Thanks again :P And here they are :

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 17749 22757 0 240 2193 03:11:51
      LAN 100M/Full 206779 142012 0 15747 1094 04:58:23
      WLAN 11M/54M 1440 0 0 8 0 04:58:10

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12468 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 8.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 16 db

      I still haven't removed the faceplate at this stage.
      ADSL2+ Speed Test
      We estimate your line is capable of between 12mb to 14mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.

      Sky User - Unofficial Help and Support for Sky Broadband and everything Sky!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Speedtesters are a best guess at that particular time.

      What's the result on ours? Its normally fairly accurate.

      Sky User - Unofficial Help and Support for Sky Broadband and everything Sky! - Broadband Packages
      The result on Sky user test was 9192kbps for download 624kbps for upload.

      I remembered the Sky person told me that my line is capable for up to 15Mbs after doing a brief test. So from what you are saying, I should be satisfied at the current speed?

      p/s: I really missed my virgin cable service now I can get up to 21 MBs d/l on Speedtest.net

     

     
    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION