Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 68

    Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

    This is a discussion on Is the speed I am getting reasonable? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; O.k Shamus, I see the edit. According to my " BT Boys Book Of DSL Speeds" 13meg is not too ...

    1. #51
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      O.k Shamus, I see the edit. According to my "BT Boys Book Of DSL Speeds" 13meg is not too bad at all.
      So what do you want to do? I would fit a faceplate filter and connect the router at the master.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      he bloomin edited his post after my reply! lol

      I agree with Brian69!

    4. #53
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      O.k Shamus, I see the edit. According to my "BT Boys Book Of DSL Speeds" 13meg is not too bad at all.
      So what do you want to do? I would fit a faceplate filter and connect the router at the master.
      Not sure if its worth the trouble though. Why can't I get the same speeds (or at least close to it with the BT faceplate Besides I would need to go fully wifi/homeplug if I do that and also put the modem at a very odd and unreacable place. Argh the agony.

      Anyway, any filter faceplate that you recommend? Just in case....

      edit @red : Sorry bud!

    5. #54
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      ADSL Nation LTD.


      the BT faceplate doesn't filter the extension cabling interference properly where as a new adslnation faceplate does.

    6. #55
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      O.k do this.
      (1) check the connections at all your extension sockets to make sure they are secure.

      (2) If you have not already done so, remove the ring wire at the master (it's the one which connects to "3" on the faceplate and is usualy orange with white rings)

      (3) make sure you have filters on all your phones and sky box if it is connected to the phone line.

      There can be many reasons why your speeds are not the same, it's oftern down to the cable used.
      ADSL Nation do good filter faceplates (XTE-2005)

    7. #56
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      ADSL Nation LTD.


      the BT faceplate doesn't filter the extension cabling interference properly where as a new adslnation faceplate does.
      Well, if I do change the master socket to this one, will it also improve my extension sockets?

      @brian : I will do all the checks. Haven't remove the orange wire from master socket yet. Do I just pull em out from the connectors and tuck them back somewhere safe?
      Last edited by Shamus88; 06-09-08 at 11:24 PM.

    8. #57
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      no if you use a adslnation faceplate, then you will only be able to connect the router at the master socket as it splits the BB and voice signals. The voice will remain available on all sockets, but BB will only be avail at the master.

    9. #58
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      no if you use a adslnation faceplate, then you will only be able to connect the router at the master socket as it splits the BB and voice signals. The voice will remain available on all sockets, but BB will only be avail at the master.
      meh Master socket is in the room I made into a cloakroom cum storage. Not the best place at all for the modem. Oh well, at least I learnt so much tonight. All this while I didn't even know what the microfilter does :P

    10. #59
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      You could try disconnecting the orange wires in the current extension where the router is? See if it cuts down on interference?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #60
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      @ Shamus.
      Yes, just be careful not to disturbe the wires on "2" and "5" You just push the wires to the back of the box. DO NOT cut them off.

     

     
    Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION