Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 68

    Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

    This is a discussion on Is the speed I am getting reasonable? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i agree on the WIFI, so i have external grade Cat5 cable going from the router at the master socket ...

    1. #31
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      i agree on the WIFI, so i have external grade Cat5 cable going from the router at the master socket to a nice apple extreme wireless N router upstairs so that my PC and network drive is fully 'wired' up and my laptop connects via wireless N which is far better than G.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Ok found the Master socket that looks like the one in the picture. It's the new BT Openreach ones (like this NEW NTE TELEPHONE MASTER SOCKET KIT nte5 Main socket on eBay, also, Other Home Phones, Home Phones, Mobile Home Phones (end time 10-Sep-08 19:55:56 BST))

      Pulled out the 2 orange wires and rebooted modem (still connected to extension) and my speed dropped to 8300kbps Not good.

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      You might also like to consider Homeplug Networking with the right 'plugs' it is faster and more reliable than wireless. As has been emphasised by others, you really need to use an ADSL faceplate on the Master socket to get 100% from your connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by Shamus88 View Post
      Ok found the Master socket that looks like the one in the picture. It's the new BT Openreach ones (like this NEW NTE TELEPHONE MASTER SOCKET KIT nte5 Main socket on eBay, also, Other Home Phones, Home Phones, Mobile Home Phones (end time 10-Sep-08 19:55:56 BST))

      Pulled out the 2 orange wires and rebooted modem (still connected to extension) and my speed dropped to 8300kbps Not good.

      Okay so take the faceplste off and plug the router into the test socket and then (albiet wirelessly) post the revised attenuation and sync rate from the router stats.

    6. #35
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      and I wish I could do the same like you red, but my master socket is on the ground floor and my pc is on the 1st floor That would be a loooooong cable plus it will be too cumbersome as I would have to route past stairs and hallways.

    7. #36
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      20meters of external grade cat5, a hole on the wall and the cat5 tacked to the outside wall and up to my spare bedroom where the main PC and airport extreme is based did the trick.

      As mentioned you could try the homeplug route or just give wireless a go.

      Incase you missed it, please see my post number 34 (2 above this).

    8. #37
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      yeah I guess I would try the homeplug thing. I actually saw that in the Argos catalogue but was pretty doubtful. Will it be better compared to WIFI?

      I would have to log onto another computer to test the direct connection as this one doesn't have WIFI :P Be back with some numbers.

    9. #38
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      you could of course ring BT and ask how much it would cost for them to relocate your master socket (id guess at over a ton, but it mayu be quite comparable to the cost of home plugs).
      Last edited by reddwarfcrew; 06-09-08 at 10:08 PM.

    10. #39
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Alright, removed faceplate and directly plugged into the test socket (resulting in my wife being not able to use the phone :P ) I get this :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13109 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 4 db 18 db

      Going to try to put the faceplate back and retest. However, still my question is why do I get around 12.4Mbs initially at the extension point w/o doing anything but after some harmless probing it dropped to 8-ish...

      edit: I guess I am going to buy a USB adapter and make my home network fully wifi Well I am not going to do any file transfers or streaming any media anyway. Just general surfing and spot of online gaming. Is it better to buy a Netgear USB WIFI adaptor or could I just get any brand?

    11. #40
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Don't really know why it dropped apart from maybe tampering has moved the wires and created even more interference!? Guessing tho.

      Your attenuation has remained at 33db which suggests that 12/13Mb is the best you;ll ever get.

     

     
    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION