Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 68

    Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

    This is a discussion on Is the speed I am getting reasonable? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by NewsreadeR If you are confident try removing the orange wires. You only need the Blue/White and White/Blue ...

    1. #21
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      If you are confident try removing the orange wires. You only need the Blue/White and White/Blue in pins 2 and 5.
      The orange wire is the ring wire and needed for certain older phones to make them ring. I had some 'BT' branded phones that I bought 5 years ago and they wouldn't ring without the ring wire attached.

      So remove the ringwire as NR has said and check that your phones do still ring!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Well, my folks had the same set up, so I bought a new BT style master socket and replaced it myself and totally solved the problem.

      Now you aren't allowed to do what I have just described as it breaks the t&cs with BT. You can get BT to do it at 150!
      nte5, Mobile Home Phones, Computing items at low prices on eBay.co.uk

    4. #23
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Well, my folks had the same set up, so I bought a new BT style master socket and replaced it myself and totally solved the problem.

      Now you aren't allowed to do what I have just described as it breaks the t&cs with BT. You can get BT to do it at 150!
      Hhmmm right

      Can you please explain whats the difference of what I have now and a master socket? And why my speed dropped nearly 3MBs by just removing 2 screws on the faceplate and putting them back

    5. #24
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      If you notice in your socket you have 2 wires in each connector (the second wire feeds the extension sockets elsewhere in your house).

      The new style NTE5 master socket has the extension cabling attached to different connectors. By using the test socket in an NTE5 you bypass the extension cabling that acts as an antenna and adds loads and loads of interference to the signal.

      Can you post a second picture just to the left showing the cables in the wall.

    6. #25
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      @ Shamus88.
      First thing you need to do is find your master socket (the one in the pic is not it) then you can remove the ring wires from terminal 3. It's no good doing this on an extension, it has to be done at the master.

    7. #26
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      @ Shamus88.
      First thing you need to do is find your master socket (the one in the pic is not it) then you can remove the ring wires from terminal 3. It's no good doing this on an extension, it has to be done at the master.
      Good spot. It's very similar to an old style master socket, but isn't.

      UK Telephone Wiring

    8. #27
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      ahh I think I understand that now. Just a bit curious as to why the speed dropped when I didn't even touch the wires. Just took the faceplate out , had a look and screwed them back in :P

      @ Brian : Hmm, are you saying that the point I am connecting the modem is actually just an extension and I do have a master socket somewhere in the house? I had a good look around when I moved in and all the phone points looks the same. So do I have to remove each and everyone to check? And as such, does this also ultimately mean its best connecting the modem to the master socket itself and just use Wifi instead?

      meh getting slightly confused now :P Sorry and I beg for your patience here
      Last edited by Shamus88; 06-09-08 at 09:20 PM.

    9. #28
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Yes that is an extension socket. Yes you must find the master (it will contain some additional components) and Yes you would be better connected there.

    10. #29
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      yes have as look at the last link i posted. You are looking for either an NTE5 style socket or one very similar to what you have found, but with the extra capacitor in it

      UK Telephone Wiring

    11. #30
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      ah thanks for clearing it up. Guess I must make a hard choice now as frankly I don't really like using WIFI. Ultimately I guess the most I will do is locate the master socket and remove the orange wires. I don't use any old style phones (DECT phones atm) so I guess that should be fine.

      8 points to check! Hoorah!

     

     
    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION