Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 68

    Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

    This is a discussion on Is the speed I am getting reasonable? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Try the test socket, if it syncs higher than 12.4mb then you have the best that you possibly get. If ...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Try the test socket, if it syncs higher than 12.4mb then you have the best that you possibly get. If not higher, then 12.4 is about the best. For a tenner a month I would be happy, twice as fast as mine




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Try the test socket, if it syncs higher than 12.4mb then you have the best that you possibly get. If not higher, then 12.4 is about the best. For a tenner a month I would be happy, twice as fast as mine
      Heh true. I did a little scouting and it seems that this is the best deal for unlimited downloads. Well off for dinner now but will try to remove the faceplate and try a direct connection to see it makes any difference. I think I read somewhere that someone got a 3+ MBs increase doing that. Oh well

      Thanks a lot for the friendly tips!

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      3+ MBs increase doing that
      Probably me, I know my speed was vastly improved changing the Faceplate.

      Enjoy your dinner




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      I took the faceplate off but there is nothing behind it that I could connect too. So I just screwed it back and rebooted modem. Now my speed dropped to 9780kbps

    6. #15
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Does your master socket look like the pic in the one in my sig? If not what does it look like?

    7. #16
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Try a reboot and repost your stats, but eat your dinner first!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #17
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Does your master socket look like the pic in the one in my sig? If not what does it look like?
      No, mine is a wall socket. It looks like this :



      Hmm, what should I do now ?

    9. #18
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by Shamus88 View Post
      No, mine is a wall socket. It looks like this :



      Hmm, what should I do now ?
      If you are confident try removing the orange wires. You only need the Blue/White and White/Blue in pins 2 and 5.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #19
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Well, my folks had the same set up, so I bought a new BT style master socket and replaced it myself and totally solved the problem.

      Now you aren't allowed to do what I have just described as it breaks the t&cs with BT. You can get BT to do it at 150!

    11. #20
      Shamus88's Avatar
      Shamus88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dundee Steeple
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is the speed I am getting reasonable?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Try a reboot and repost your stats, but eat your dinner first!
      Having dinner infront of PC :P Wife not so pleased though. Here are my stats now : (It defers slightly every reboot)

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9645 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 8 db

     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION