Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Slow browsing

    This is a discussion on Slow browsing within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi my dad recently got Sky installed, was activated 31st of august, he got put on base my mistake so ...

    1. #1
      axegrinder's Avatar
      axegrinder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMBEEST
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow browsing

      Hi my dad recently got Sky installed, was activated 31st of august, he got put on base my mistake so i upgraded him to him to mid, which didnt take to long. Anyway, downloads are nice and fast, just browsing is quite slow sometimes.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8160 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 14 db

      Pings to BBC are about 60-80ms. Is that high or normal for sky? I have used TCPoptimzer to optimize the connection.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow browsing

      there is nothing wrong with that at all! other than upload should be put to 416kbps now to stop the dreaded 256kbps upstream bug...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      axegrinder's Avatar
      axegrinder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMBEEST
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow browsing

      Oh maybe its me being used to me Virgin Media cable, with very low pings xD. Does the upload really need to be lifted by an extra 32kbps?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow browsing

      in theory, no...but if you have a Phase 2 Netgear there's a bug that'll have the router train up at 256kbps instead of 384kbps and you won't be able to browse/get an IP address...resetting it to 416kbps solves this...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Tetse's Avatar
      Tetse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EACVI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow browsing

      Hi, Sorry about this - not axegrinders problem, but are is there any work going on this weekend at sky that would cause speeds to crash. My 8mb normally runs at 7mb, never below 6, but (when I can get a speedteaster to work) today I'm getting 32kbs!!!
      No idea if it's my setup (rebooted router to no avail) or the whole system.
      HELLLPP!!

    7. #6
      axegrinder's Avatar
      axegrinder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMBEEST
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow browsing

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      in theory, no...but if you have a Phase 2 Netgear there's a bug that'll have the router train up at 256kbps instead of 384kbps and you won't be able to browse/get an IP address...resetting it to 416kbps solves this...
      How would i go about doing that? Would I have to ring sky up? If so what number do i ring.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION