Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 44

    I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

    This is a discussion on I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello I've been on the phone to Sky support for the past 1+1/2 hours and have just been told next ...

    1. #1
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Hello

      I've been on the phone to Sky support for the past 1+1/2 hours and have just been told next level support is going to call me back sometime in the next 72 hours (yes 3 days!). What I think of Sky support right now I can't put in words.

      So can anyone help. Here is my story;

      Sky Broadband Max stats:
      Connection Speed: 16380 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation: 11 db 2 db
      Noise Margin: 9 db 14 db

      (very close to exchange)

      Not a problem since sign-up in Feb this year. Internet started going very slow two days ago. I've connected direct to the test socket behind the face plate and the problem remains. I've tried from 3 different computers, problem remains.

      Download stats from speedtest.net:
      Ping: 26m/s
      Download: 143 Kbps
      Upload: 644 Kbps

      So I'm getting awful download speeds but my upload is unchanged. Other symptoms are simply web pages not loading or loading very very slowly.

      I've tried a second router (my old Netgear DG834G) using the p/w crack supplied by James (thanks James) and the problem still exists. My current normal router is the black/grey v2.

      I'm at my wits end and cannot wait for support to mess with me any more. Level 1 support says there isn't a problem with my line and started talking me through reboots. Can anyone help?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Can you post your router stats (ie what speed is your router connecting to the exchange at, is it still 16380 figure?). If it is then Sky wont be able to help as the problem is PC related (you have already proved it's not the sky router).

      Are you using wireless? Can you try another pc (laptop) to see if that;s any better (with a wired connection).

    4. #3
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Router stats as of right now are the same as I posted.

      I've connected using my laptop both wirelessly and cable, no change.
      I've connected using the second computer in the house, no change.

      They're all connected to the router so if there is a software problem its got to be something that's on all 3 computers. Other than Windows XP, I'm not sure what that could be. The laptop is virtually bare bar Windows XP.

      The strange thing is perfect, unchanged upload speed, but awfully slow download?

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      hmmm, not that is strange.

      The only thing left that i can come up with is interference on your actual line that isn't enough to affect the speed that the router syncs at, but enough to create errors on the line and so reduce the dl rate.

      You could do with posting the detailed router stats so we can see the CRC errors..... but i;m not sure how to do that on your router. If you can post those then that may help pinpoint the prob.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      what you get downloading through IE HERE?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      what you get downloading through IE HERE?...
      Well I tried downloading the small file but its been hanging on and off for the past 5 minutes. The last transfer speed I got from it was 851 bytes/sec (yes that's bytes!).

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      regarding tier 1, humour them...you've got a ticket now so just quote that and they'll put you through to CST...just bare in mind the cues are around an hour long from 9am onwards so best call nice and early...

      is there a pattern for the slow down or did it just happen?

      and 72hrs is Sky's SLA to get back in touch with customers - its only a consumer, basic service after all...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      regarding tier 1, humour them...you've got a ticket now so just quote that and they'll put you through to CST...just bare in mind the cues are around an hour long from 9am onwards so best call nice and early...

      is there a pattern for the slow down or did it just happen?

      and 72hrs is Sky's SLA to get back in touch with customers - its only a consumer, basic service after all...
      The slow down just happened from yesterday am onwards.

      Now I just fired up the xbox360 to see how it runs on Live. Bear in mind it has taken me half hour to download 6MB of software and 5 minutes to navigate from the home page of this website to this reply screen, I just had a couple of games of Halo online and there wasn't the slightest lag! If there was a problem on my line causing the download issues I mention above, wouldn't there be some effect to xbox Live game play? If so this kind of rules out the router and the line.

      So am I looking at a problem which would have to be on all 3 of my computers? I run Avast antivirus and Windows firewall. Nothing else. I just done a thorough virus scan with Avast (about 2 hours worth), updated definitions first, and no issues found.

      I downloaded a malware finder from Microsoft (the 6MB program I mentioned), and it found no issues.

      I want to double check this though, so can anyone recommend free online checkers for viruses and spyware. Bear in mind it is taking me an age to download anything .

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Try temporarily turning off Avast? Remember to put it back on though.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Try temporarily turning off Avast? Remember to put it back on though.
      Tried that and no different. Also done all the usual cache clearing, temps, etc before running the virus scan. Assuming the xbox Live game has proved the connection is fine, surely it must be some sort of virus/malware, to go to all my computers? There's been no recent Windows update to blame, and its only that and Avast that exits on all three computers. Also tried Firefox with the same results.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION