Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 44

    I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

    This is a discussion on I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You haven't set up any outgoing rules on the router?...

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      You haven't set up any outgoing rules on the router?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      can you go to task manager and look over all the processes that are running to see if there is something running (like a P2P program, even BBC Iplayer) that could be hogging the bandwidth.

    4. #13
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      You haven't set up any outgoing rules on the router?
      Never put any rules in the router. Just checked in case something has found its way in there but both incoming and outgoing is clear.

    5. #14
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      can you go to task manager and look over all the processes that are running to see if there is something running (like a P2P program, even BBC Iplayer) that could be hogging the bandwidth.
      Am currently going through the processes and identifying each one. Nothing untowards that I can see. I also took a look at msconfig to see if anything untowards was loading on startup and again, nothing new there.

      I do use utorrent, itunes, and have sky and channel 4's p2p services, but they are all disabled at present. Besides, they are all on one machine. I've turned off that machine. There's no flashing light on the router to say anything is using the bandwidth. The light just flashes a bit on and off when I try to load a webpage. But obviously much slower and less frequent than it normally does. The strange thing is, the light goes berzerk when you play a game on xbox Live, like it always does.

      So definitely nothing hogging the bandwidth.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Try opening a Command Prompt and typing netstat /b this will show all open ports and the parent name. Note there is a space between the t and the /. This may reveal if malware is running. In Vista you will have to run as Administrator.

      You could also start one of your machines in Safe Mode with Networking and see how the speed is. This will give an indication if a Start up program is running and hogging the bandwidth.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Try opening a Command Prompt and typing netstat /b this will show all open ports and the parent name. Note there is a space between the t and the /. This may reveal if malware is running. In Vista you will have to run as Administrator.

      You could also start one of your machines in Safe Mode with Networking and see how the speed is. This will give an indication if a Start up program is running and hogging the bandwidth.
      This seems to give different results each time, but here is one:


      Active Connections

      Proto Local Address Foreign Address State PID
      TCP ebhome:1374 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1376 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1380 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1382 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1386 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1388 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1390 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1392 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1394 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1408 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1410 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1412 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1420 213-155-154-9.customer.teliacarrier.com:http TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:1422 5adff621.bb.sky.com:http TIME_WAIT 0


      As I say, seems to change after multiple tries. Sometimes I get loads of localhost entries. Sometimes I get nothing at all. I did try this earlier and remember getting an entry from amazon.com. Only I haven't visited amazon all day, and would of gone to .co.uk anyway??? So don't have a clue what that was about.

      Also, this doens't seem to be a bandwidth hogging issue. The light on the front of my router isn't flashing to signal any traffic throughput. It struggles to flash when I try to load a page on this website. Each page here is taking up to a minute to load. The light on the router flashes a few times every few seconds (not consistently though) to give me a few bytes, bit by bit, then eventually the page will load.
      Last edited by Paul N; 06-09-08 at 10:03 PM.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      If that is the full log, you don't seem to have any open connections. Do you have an account with teliacarrier.com? Have you tried SM&N?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Also just tried Safe Mode and no change.

    10. #19
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If that is the full log, you don't seem to have any open connections. Do you have an account with teliacarrier.com? Have you tried SM&N?
      This is the full log run again. Havne't heard of teliacarrier and don't have anything to do with them as far as I'm aware. And I'm sorry but what is SM&N?

      Active Connections

      Proto Local Address Foreign Address State PID
      TCP ebhome:1329 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1331 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1351 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1360 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1382 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1392 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1396 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1400 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1402 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1404 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1405 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1408 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1410 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1412 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1424 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1426 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1428 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1429 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1432 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:ms-sql-s localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1440 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1442 localhost:12080 ESTABLISHED 3548
      [iexplore.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1424 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1402 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1331 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1405 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1428 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1410 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1412 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1440 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1442 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1329 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1429 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1404 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1396 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1408 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1382 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:ms-sql-s ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1360 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1351 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1426 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1400 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1432 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1392 ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1330 ukmdvip4.doubleclick.net:http ESTABLISHED 1
      912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1332 ukmdvip4.doubleclick.net:http ESTABLISHED 1
      912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1352 ukmdvip4.doubleclick.net:http ESTABLISHED 1
      912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1361 ukmdvip4.doubleclick.net:http ESTABLISHED 1
      912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1383 gv-in-f127.google.com:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1393 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1397 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1401 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1403 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1406 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1407 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1409 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1411 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1419 217.20.17.70:http ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1425 62.190.8.141:http ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1427 217.20.17.70:http ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1430 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1431 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:ms-sql-m jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1435 jupiter.skyuser.co.uk:http ESTABLISHED 1912

      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1441 213-155-154-106.customer.teliacarrier.com:http
      ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1443 66.102.9.99:http ESTABLISHED 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:1422 62.190.8.141:http CLOSE_WAIT 1912
      [ashWebSv.exe]

      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1438 TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1398 TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1388 TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1389 TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1436 TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1416 TIME_WAIT 0
      TCP ebhome:12080 localhost:1394 TIME_WAIT 0

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I've Got A Head Ache and I Need Help

      Do you have a friend with a laptop that could test your connection? If it got the same result it would rule out the PCs. Is your Xbox connected by ethernet. If so try swapping the port it is using to one of your PCs? I am thinking this is a failing router situation

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION