Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    no connections mastersocket

    This is a discussion on no connections mastersocket within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi just took the front section of my master socket off and there are no wires/cables going into numbers 2 ...

    1. #1
      kheb3350's Avatar
      kheb3350 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      no connections mastersocket

      Hi just took the front section of my master socket off and there are no wires/cables going into numbers 2 and 5. Don't understand this stuff, but I thought the norm was that cables were supposed to go into these. Would that effect my broadband connection?

      Also, if I decided to fit an ADSL Nation faceplate would I have to connect some wires into these to get it working properly?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi kheb3350

      If you download this pdf From ADSL Nation it will tell you what to look at and what to do.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      kheb3350's Avatar
      kheb3350 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks Wheelie - read that but still don't understand.

      From that I gather I should have cables connected to terminals 2 and 5 on the ADSL Nation faceplate. However, that presupposes the wires were connected to the front section of your NTE-5 in the first place, so you know what wires should go into the terminals and can actually access those wires. In my mastersocket there are wires at the back in a loop and I think they are going into another connection. Am I supposed to get two of these (the correct colours) and connect them into the terminals 2 and 5.

      Also, do you just leave the A and B ADSL terminals empty?

    5. #4
      moshady's Avatar
      moshady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If all you want to do is use the phone and ADSL sockets on the front of your new face plate, you don't need to do any wiring - just plugging it in is enough (you are connecting to the BT side of your line via the BT-style plug on the back of the face plate).

      Should you wish to wire extensions in future, use the 2/3/4/5 connections for voice-only extensions and A/B for unfiltered (ADSL) output.

      If that doesn't answer your question let me know exactly what set up you are aiming for in terms of phone & ADSL connections and I'll help you out.

    6. #5
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      The connection Krone strip in the face plate are for wiring in EXTENSIONS to other sockets in the house.By removing the rear of the master socket you are effectivly breaking the law & the T&C's of the service provider.
      That's why the NTE-5's were introduced in the first place,so DIY'ers could connect their own extensions without interfearing with the BT network.
      For more info see here-

      http://web.ukonline.co.uk/freshwater...cketwiring.htm

      http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Technica...one_Wiring.htm

      http://www.wppltd.demon.co.uk/WPP/Wi...telephone.html

      Hope this explains it.

    7. #6
      Ralph's Avatar
      Ralph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWNEDG
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: 2x Sky+HD 1tb
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      HA8 8R?, Edgware
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      LWNEDG
      Unlimited

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION