Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    What synch speed should I get?

    This is a discussion on What synch speed should I get? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; We recently installed Sky Mid BB and, on activation, we only obtained a d/l speed of 250 kbps. Since we ...

    1. #1
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      What synch speed should I get?

      We recently installed Sky Mid BB and, on activation, we only obtained a d/l speed of 250 kbps. Since we could get a synch speed of 2 Mbps at the test socket, this was clearly an internal wiring problem.

      We contacted Sky and they agreed to drop us to the Base package until we could get this sorted (IF we could get this sorted!!!)

      Despite removing all the ringer wires and disconnecting some of the extension wiring at the master socket, the best I could get, even at the master socket, was about 900 kbps.

      Today I fitted a filtered face plate at the master socket and immediately synched at 2048 kbps, the maximum on the Base package.

      Given the router stats (attached) can anyone tell me what is the maximum synch speed I should be able to attain if I go back to the Mid package?

      Thanks,

      Felix
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails What synch speed should I get?-sky-filtered-main-socket.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What synch speed should I get?

      To be honest you will not get much more. The 10dbs noise margin indicates that you have not much in hand. If that is the margin now (about 3pm) you can expect it to reduce later in the evening. Take the stats about 9-10 pm and see what they say then.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: What synch speed should I get?

      Thanks for that. I suspect that you are right, because the other phone line synchs at a max of 2200 - 2400 kbps (depending on which way the wind is blowing).

      The noise margin does vary; on average it is 6 - 7, which would probably just up the speed a bit.

      I will still probably go to Mid for the extra usage allowance.

      At least I will now be able to cancel my other ADSL ISP and, soon, cancel my Virgin cable.

      Regards,

      Felix

    5. #4
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: What synch speed should I get?

      Here's the stats at 22:24.

      I guess that about 2400 kbps would be a good synch speed?

      What synch speed should I get?-sky-filtered-main-socket-1.jpg

      Regards,

      Felix

    6. #5
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What synch speed should I get?

      The above stats you should get a Maximum of 3.5 meg. Based on those stats

    7. #6
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: What synch speed should I get?

      Thanks very much. That's what the BT estimate was.

      As soon as I get rid of my current ISPs, I'll go to Sky Mid and see just how much I really get.

      5 per month is a bargain. For historical reasons I am paying 14 for another ADSL ISP and 20 for a Virgin TV, phone & BB package, all gone by end-November.

      Thanks again,

      Felix

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What synch speed should I get?

      The above stats you should get a Maximum of 3.5 meg. Based on those stats
      Yes, if you look at the attenuation only, but with a sync of 2048 and a noise margin of 6, the line is carrying as much as it can handle. To achieve any more, improvements would have to be made to the phone line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: What synch speed should I get?

      At the moment, the synch speed is capped at 2048 kbps because I am on Sky Base. That cap will be removed on Sky Mid, so I will hope to do a little better.

      3.5 Mbps would be a dream; 2.5 Mbps would be most satisfactory.

      Regards,

      Felix

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What synch speed should I get?

      I don't think you are quite understanding. Removing the cap will make little or no difference. With a noise margin of 6dbs your line is carrying as much as it is capable of. If you noise margin was 13-14 dbs, then you would have a chance of getting 3.5Mbs. You may even find that your line becomes unstable and has to be re-capped.

      As Googleme says, your attenuation should support a higher speed, but there is excessive noise on it which reduces it's capacity. If the fault is fixed, then you would have a chance of the higher speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION