Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky Connect Problems

    This is a discussion on Sky Connect Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Oh lordy I feel like I'm going bonkers. I ordered Sky broadband a few weeks ago and was told that ...

    1. #1
      Alisonjm's Avatar
      Alisonjm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01695
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Connect Problems

      Oh lordy I feel like I'm going bonkers.
      I ordered Sky broadband a few weeks ago and was told that Broadband Connect is the only option available to me, so I agreed and the router arrived and the activation date was Friday. I connected Saturday and found some pages were taking up to ten minutes to load (!!) and thus the service was useless.
      I went into the help section and checked my stats and this what they reported:

      Downstream Connection: 288kbps Upstream Connection: 288kbps
      Downstream Line Attenuation: 38db Upstream: 11db
      Downstream Noise Margin: 27db Upstream: 23db

      Now before we start I need you to know that none of those numbers mean much to me, but I know 288 is rubbish... so I rang Sky and they said nothing can be done for ten days but by looking at their screen they wanted me to know that this is all my line is capable of... Surely not? All my neighbours have decent high speed broadband and I have used Bt Broadband without any problems in the past.

      In any other circumstances I would be happy to give them the benefit of the doubt and wait out the ten days except for the fact that I told them that if after the ten days passed I was still suffering and outrageous connection speed I would of course have to cancel.. at which point I was told that the service has to be cancelled within EIGHT days from activation after which I am locked itothe contract regardless of the speeds I am achieving!

      So my friends my questions are these: do my stats indicate I should be capable of getting better speeds? As I am now three days in and there has been no change at all, is there likely to be any change? Do these problems generally get resolved by customer support? And will I really be locked into the contract if I wait out the ten days?

      Thank you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Problems

      IANTE will probably advise you properly, but I would say you are on the wrong product. Phone Sky again and insist that they to pass you to someone who is familiar with the Connect product. Very few in Tier 1 even know what it is.

      Edit - In the mean time you might like to have a look at this from Plusnet, which is the same product as you should be on.
      http://www.plus.net/support/broadban...ax_guide.shtml
      Last edited by Isitme; 01-09-08 at 05:06 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      billibuoy's Avatar
      billibuoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01522 790
      Broadband ISP: tv no BBand
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Problems

      Re Connect only! :-I am a sky&cable user.I have tried to take up the current ( 1/9/08) adverts for all three services for 17 for another new contract at new address.. Imposs. Spoke to sky - "sorry Only Connect available where u r - no Base ." Tried many more times putting other Telephone exchanges in . Same every time . Pay 17 connect.
      IS THIS A WIDESPREAD CON!!

    5. #4
      Alisonjm's Avatar
      Alisonjm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01695
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Problems

      @ IsItMe Thanks for that link... it has been a big help in understanding this ten day warming up thing!

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Problems

      Sky use the 10 training to fob off Connect customers, but in your case I don't think it applies. They will have to get on to BT to correct your package.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Problems

      sorry for the delay!!

      the issue here is that BT have your line set to Home/Office 250 (which'll have your speed limited to 288 up/down) as opposed to ADSL Max (up to 8Mbps)...you need to get past tier 1 to CST and they should know how to escalate it to BT to get the line regraded to the correct profile...

      as to why BT are doing this - NO idea...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sky use the 10 training to fob off Connect customers, but in your case I don't think it applies. They will have to get on to BT to correct your package.
      Wether it applies or not if the Tier 1 follows the proper process the 10 day rule is given and there is no way round it. Sky set the process and want it adhered to and uless you get a T1 that can see the problem you will not get escalated within that period.

    9. #8
      Alisonjm's Avatar
      Alisonjm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01695
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Problems

      You were absolutely right people... late last night I had an email from Sky to say the problem had been escalated to Bt and this morning I woke up to relatively speedy broadband. Yey!

      Many many thanks.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Problems

      Wether it applies or not if the Tier 1 follows the proper process the 10 day rule is given and there is no way round it.
      I know Paul, but it is time Sky advised T1 that exceptions should be made when the user is obviously on the wrong package. After the 10 days are up and the package corrected, it could be another 10 days before the line 'trains' properly, during which time nothing can be done.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION