Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    i dont want sky as my homepage!

    This is a discussion on i dont want sky as my homepage! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi, i don't want sky as my homepage, would like msn as my dad is new to all things technological ...

    1. #1
      newell1's Avatar
      newell1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i dont want sky as my homepage!

      hi, i don't want sky as my homepage, would like msn as my dad is new to all things technological and i have set him up on msn and would like to be able to have msn as our homepage but sky wont seem to go away! I have tried changing it on the tools menu but i still keep getting sky as my homepage.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dflour69's Avatar
      dflour69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hastings
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hastings
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: i dont want sky as my homepage!

      I am using Firefox 3 and it's Tools/Options/Main and designate your homepage accordingly.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: i dont want sky as my homepage!

      if you double-click the Sky Broadband link on your desktop it WILL take you to Sky.com as it's link to it...

      delete it and just use Internet Explorer/Firefox and set that homepage to whatever you want...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: i dont want sky as my homepage!

      Moved to broadband forum.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i dont want sky as my homepage!

      did you by a chance install stuff from the cd you got with your modem

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: i dont want sky as my homepage!

      I think IANTE is right, delete the Sky icon and use the explorer or Firefox icon to go to the Net. Set the page you want as Home and it should then stay.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      louisah818's Avatar
      louisah818 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i dont want sky as my homepage!

      Arghhh I have the same problem, I deleted the sky on my desktop, i changed the homepage again i opened explorer and THERE it was,the slowest loading, laptop slowing, bandwidth using, advertising showing, crap including webpage......ever!!!! and i am hating sky ALL because of this so please please can someone help, i always get a little box appear in the bottom right corner of myscreen sayin the homepage i chose is blacklisted (and, funnily enough, sky isn't one of those pages :-/) ,now i have checked spybot search and destroy programe, i have checked windows trusted sites and even had a little tantrum...etc....is this a little sky trick to get us to use their annoyingly boring webpage....is this something a little registry fiddling can fix....can some clever person out there help please??



    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: i dont want sky as my homepage!

      as long as whatever homepage you want is set in 'Internet Options' in control panel it shouldn't be an issue...

      having said that, how old/slow is your PC? as the Sky homepage opens in about 3 seconds for me...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      louisah818's Avatar
      louisah818 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i dont want sky as my homepage!

      nope tried that it still changes back to sky it isnt me i know it isnt and it isnt my comp (its not old either) this never happened before i got sky i could have the homepage as whatever i want and now i just get sky...:-(

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: i dont want sky as my homepage!

      Could you please continue this in the other thread that you have opened?

      How to end Sky's homepage evil plot to take over the internet world???Please help me!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION