Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Avg

    This is a discussion on Avg within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone explain why Sky Broadband will not load on my computer with AVG anti-virus loaded. As soon as I ...

    1. #1
      RontheRocket's Avatar
      RontheRocket is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01895
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Avg

      Can anyone explain why Sky Broadband will not load on my computer with AVG anti-virus loaded. As soon as I un-install I am able to access the web! very strange!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Avg

      Moved to Broadband forum.

      Is it the latest version of AVG?

      I had this error when I tried AVG out, and in the end ditched it.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Avg

      It is indeed strange. I have used Grisoft's AVG for years and now use the latest version, AVG8. I have never had any problem with it. AV of any kind should not stop you connecting, only firewalls will do this. Are you using the AVG combined AV, Spyware and Firewall? If so you will have to allow access in the firewall settings. I am not familiar with the AVG firewall settings but there will be a section where you can enter trusted programs. This would normally be done when you set the program up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Avg

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Moved to Broadband forum.

      Is it the latest version of AVG?

      I had this error when I tried AVG out, and in the end ditched it.
      I didn't have this error but AVG 8 didn't half slow my system down, I now use Avast with no complaints.

    6. #5
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Avg

      I tend to use avast also, great little program

    7. #6
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Avg

      is anyone experiencing a slow download from avasts server or is it me?....

    8. #7
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Avg

      Just done an update and flew through like normal. Must be you. Sorry for the bad news

    9. #8
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Avg

      Mine auto updates so I have no idea I'm afraid.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Avg

      there has been an issue with some XP/Vista installs where a Windows update send the AV software into a mental and blocks all access...usually uninstalling the AV and reinstalling fixes it...

      has so far affected (from my experience)...

      McAfee
      AVG8 Free
      Avira
      Avast!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Avg

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      ..usually uninstalling the AV <snip> fixes it...
      best option

      To be honest, I've never found AVG any good at protecting a PC. I would (and do) pay for a decent AV package, and one that doesn't hog the resorses of a PC . I'm currently using Kaspersky, and prior to that used Nod32, both of which are excellent packages.

      Like most things we all have different opinions, and this is just my 2p worth
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION