Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 39

    Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

    This is a discussion on Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; What if I call again and another CST agent also refuses to move my connection to ADSL2+? Anything I can ...

    1. #21
      Vegeta's Avatar
      Vegeta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

      What if I call again and another CST agent also refuses to move my connection to ADSL2+?

      Anything I can say to him/her to change their mind?

      Can I email the CST or someone somehow as this would be more appropriate for me. Anyone know their contact email?

      Like playing the lottery this is
      Last edited by Vegeta; 25-09-08 at 06:14 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

      I'm not saying that If I see 11 or 12 SNR I will not touch it. If I think the line can hold it then certainly I'll boost it. If Lama was sittin in front of me I would be able to see more details of the line for example the errors. If I knew the distance from the exchange it would also be good and also If There was an estimated max speed.

      But all we see here is Attenuation and SNR.. I've seen lines that have similar stats to these and when the speed is increased even by half a Mb the line struggles to gain sync and sometimes sync's in lower than before.

      I'm not the type of person that will just look at the stats and say "No, looks fine, it won't go any higher". I'll certainly give it a go and see what happens

    4. #23
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

      Quote Originally Posted by Vegeta View Post
      What if I call again and another CST agent also refuses to move my connection to ADSL2+?

      Anything I can say to him/her to change their mind?

      Can I email the CST or someone somehow as this would be more appropriate for me. Anyone know their contact email?

      Like playing the lottery this is
      Yes, you can ask them to try it and see what happens. If they change it and your happy with it then you can ask them to leave it.

    5. #24
      Vegeta's Avatar
      Vegeta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

      Quote Originally Posted by krysis View Post
      Yes, you can ask them to try it and see what happens. If they change it and your happy with it then you can ask them to leave it.
      What is the email address to contact them?

    6. #25
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

      Use the Kana link below.

    7. #26
      Vegeta's Avatar
      Vegeta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

      Filled in the form and am awaiting a personal reply.

      Will update on what they say.
      Last edited by Vegeta; 26-09-08 at 02:17 PM.

    8. #27
      Vegeta's Avatar
      Vegeta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

      Result!

      Thank you for contacting Sky Broadband Technical Support.

      I have created a technical trouble ticket for our customer solutions team the reference number for this is 882866. I have attached a copy of your email to the ticket so the advisor that picks it up will be able to action your request for your line to be set to ADSL2+. Once this has been done an agent will contact you to let you know.

      I trust this helps however should you continue to experience technical difficulties, please reply to this email or call us on 08442 41 05 15. Lines are open 24 hours a day.

    9. #28
      Vegeta's Avatar
      Vegeta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

      This is ADSL2+ right? Do the stats look ok? I was expecting a little faster but its better than before atleast



      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 6.02.01.00
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 10112 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10112 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 11 db
      Getting a sustained 1.02MB/sec from Newsgroups.
      Last edited by Vegeta; 28-09-08 at 02:52 PM.

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

      As I said back in post#16, you will only get 1.5 -2mb. This is down to noise on your line. If you can improve this, you will see a significant increase, maybe 13-14mb.

      Have you tried the stats from the Test socket?
      Last edited by Isitme; 28-09-08 at 03:06 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      Vegeta's Avatar
      Vegeta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Max but connected at 8Mbps?

      The stats above were taken from the master socket in the house and the phone cable from the modem was insert into the test socket with the faceplate off.

      Could this yield improvements?

      XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION