Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Setting Bandwidth Allocation

    This is a discussion on Setting Bandwidth Allocation within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi... just got Sky wireless Broadband. There are 3 of us living in a house and I was wondering if ...

    1. #1
      kiniki's Avatar
      kiniki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Setting Bandwidth Allocation

      Hi... just got Sky wireless Broadband.

      There are 3 of us living in a house and I was wondering if there is a way to limit the amount of bandwidth sent to each computer?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Setting Bandwidth Allocation

      Not as far as I know using the Sky routers.

    4. #3
      kiniki's Avatar
      kiniki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting Bandwidth Allocation

      Oh well...

      In that case I am hoping that using a Belkin as a wireless Bridge and wiring into that will help me get better results..

      As it stands, the guy in the room next to me keeps sucking all the bandwidth..

    5. #4
      kiniki's Avatar
      kiniki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting Bandwidth Allocation

      Should the Sky router evenly distribute the bandwidth between 3 machines?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Setting Bandwidth Allocation

      Unfortunately no, the one with the strongest connection will get the lions share, this is a common complaint in situations like yours.

      I don't know if the V2 routers support WDS, the V1 don't. I believe they are based on the DG834Gv3, which do, but the Sky firmware may not allow it. You can only 'suck it and see'.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION