Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    download speed is always 40KB/s (320kb/s)

    This is a discussion on download speed is always 40KB/s (320kb/s) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The main phone line comes straight from the roof, into the house and into this... This divides the line into ...

    1. #11
      pubjoe's Avatar
      pubjoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: download speed is always 40KB/s (320kb/s)

      The main phone line comes straight from the roof, into the house and into this...



      This divides the line into two - the wire on the left is cut and goes no where, the line on the right goes round the front door and skirting and straight through a wall to the socket I pictured earlier.

      Would the test socket be in this little box, as other than that I can't see any other place it would be.
      Last edited by pubjoe; 20-08-08 at 04:20 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: download speed is always 40KB/s (320kb/s)

      You need to get that wiring sorted, the main socket you took a photo of seems to have a split going left to right on it above the screws, if that is the case you may well have a hidden test socket that you can use but that may not help if your wiring is in such a poor state to be honest.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: download speed is always 40KB/s (320kb/s)

      That is an NTE-5 Master socket. Remove the 2 screws and ease of the plate they are holding on. You will find a socket underneath, plug the router in to this. Using loose telephone extensions to plug the router into is never a good idea

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: download speed is always 40KB/s (320kb/s)

      Also it looks like you have your sky tv straight into the tel socket without a filter??

    6. #15
      pubjoe's Avatar
      pubjoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: download speed is always 40KB/s (320kb/s)

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Also it looks like you have your sky tv straight into the tel socket without a filter??
      I don't use the sky TV thing - the guy who installed it said I needn't bother.

      ...Have to nip out, so will read your replies properly in an hour.

      Thanks a lot for all your help so far. ...and yes, I think I'll call out a bt guy to sort out my wiring. There is a lot we need to do to this house (notice the 'orrible, half torn wood chip everywhere?)
      Last edited by pubjoe; 20-08-08 at 04:30 PM.

    7. #16
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: download speed is always 40KB/s (320kb/s)

      Lol if it's not in use unplug it from the socket end of things, may help things a bit.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION