Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    help!!! connection problems as i type

    This is a discussion on help!!! connection problems as i type within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; right now ive had a semi steady connection for about 5mins my sky broadband had been working perfectly fine till ...

    1. #1
      nicksband2k's Avatar
      nicksband2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      help!!! connection problems as i type

      right now ive had a semi steady connection for about 5mins

      my sky broadband had been working perfectly fine till today.

      it has been connecting and disconnecting... and coming up with 401 authorization screens all the time, whenever i try to access any site (black background) from the router apparently and here are some logs:

      Aug 20 11:50:16 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL G.992 started

      Aug 20 11:50:18 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL G.992 channel analysis

      Aug 20 11:50:19 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL link down

      Aug 20 11:50:26 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL G.994 training

      Aug 20 11:50:41 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL G.992 started

      Aug 20 11:50:44 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL G.992 channel analysis

      Aug 20 11:50:48 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL G.992 message exchange

      Aug 20 11:50:49 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL link up, interleaved, us=384, ds=5152


      i dont know whats going on!!

      thanks for any help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: help!!! connection problems as i type

      It maybe that there is some work going on in the exchange. You could try connecting the routre to the test socket to see if that makes any difference.
      Last edited by Saturday; 20-08-08 at 01:47 PM. Reason: Removed full quote of preceding post

    4. #3
      nicksband2k's Avatar
      nicksband2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help!!! connection problems as i type

      well it seems to have sorted itself out now.. touchwood

      thanks

    5. #4
      nicksband2k's Avatar
      nicksband2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help!!! connection problems as i type

      ohh noo!!!!! its struck again... and its got a lot worse and more intermittent.

      basically what happens is.. i try to visit a page and it comes up with a pop-up box asking for authentication and says something along the lines of... the site says "dsl router" and it ends up with 401 error with a black page and red writing.

      any ideas? will i have to get an engineer around?

      thanks for any help!!

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: help!!! connection problems as i type

      It means you are losing synch from the router to the sky servers, you need to call Sky T1.

    7. #6
      nicksband2k's Avatar
      nicksband2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help!!! connection problems as i type

      i haven't called sky yet, but ive done some reading and some tests. what i've found is as follows:

      -when the phone is plugged in a microfilter it appears to cause connection problems (despite trying different microfilters).. and when its not plugged in, it still causes some problems but its far less frequent.

      -when i connect via the ethernet port it still has the same error.

      -when i ring quiet line it is VERY noisy.

      so my guess is that my disruption is being caused by a noisy line.. i had this problem before a few years ago actually.

      so who do i call to tune my line? bt or sky?

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: help!!! connection problems as i type

      Have you got a noisy line when only the phone is on the line? If it's noisy when only a phone is plugged into the test socket (or main socket if you have no test socket) then you call the people you pay your line rental to and report a noisy line (DO NOT MENTION HAVING ADSL ON THE LINE!).
      If it's only noisy when the router is on the line and on then its a fault that needs to go to sky.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: help!!! connection problems as i type

      If you have a noisy line call whoever you pay your rental to. Do not mention broadband or you will probably get no action. Phone providers only have to supply an acceptable voice service they do not have to supply a line suitable for broadband.

      Make absolutely sure that it is the external line by plugging a corded phone into the test socket and test from there. If you call out BT and the fault is within your wiring, you will be charged for the callout.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      nicksband2k's Avatar
      nicksband2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help!!! connection problems as i type

      right. i can confirm that i get noise when i just plug a corded phone in (& in the test socket) and some of the noise is just bad static and sometimes you can almost hear a faint radio station and music in the background LOL. so i guess i'll be ringing up sky very soon.

      thanks for being so helpful everyone. much appreciated!!!

    11. #10
      nicksband2k's Avatar
      nicksband2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help!!! connection problems as i type

      UPDATE.

      everything seems to be working A-ok. and even the static on the quietline is reduced significantly.. but the dialing tone is DEFINITELY not normal (like a half dailing tone & not constant). and an was engineer scheduled to come soon... should i cancel it or let him sort it out?

      thanks

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION