Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Downstream Noise Margin

    This is a discussion on Downstream Noise Margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, I think I understand line attenuation stats, and found the post in this forum which lets you know ...

    1. #1
      brianc's Avatar
      brianc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEBDT
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Downstream Noise Margin

      Hi guys,

      I think I understand line attenuation stats, and found the post in this forum which lets you know what speed you might expect with a stated Downstrean Line Attenuation.

      But I am confused with the noise margin figure.
      My question is ...Is a larger number better in the Noise Margin stats ?
      I read comments to reboot the router if the figure drops below 6.9db.
      Mine is at 17.5db, good or bad ?

      Thanks for looking

      Sorry if this question is in the wrong section. Mods please move it if it is.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Downstream Noise Margin

      Quote Originally Posted by brianc View Post
      Mine is at 17.5db, good or bad ?
      Depends on your sync. If your sync is ~16000kbps then a noise margin of 17.5db would be fabulous. If, on Max you're syncing at less than that then you've been capped and that has given you your high margin.

      Post all your stats (sync, attenuation and nm).

    4. #3
      brianc's Avatar
      brianc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEBDT
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream Noise Margin

      Thanks for the reply Saturday.

      I am definitely capped, I hope these are the stats you are after.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6608325 13145419 0 844 7616 90:14:11
      LAN 10M/100M 15975792 10163402 0 9602 3302 95:17:46
      WLAN 11M/54M 40321 11888 0 27 26 95:17:38

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2816 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 30.0 db
      Noise Margin 18.9 db 12.0 db

      I did not realise that capping increased your Noise Margin, it used to be 9.8db
      I used to get 5.5Mb download, but last week it went off and after 5 days of phoning they got it back on at 2.8Mb.
      They will not remove the cap so I am off to 02.
      Last edited by brianc; 20-08-08 at 06:45 PM.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Downstream Noise Margin

      from those stats, you're quite heavily capped...only CST can remove this cap but be sure to get them on the phone as you might get an 'auto regrade' which'll probably cap you further...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      brianc's Avatar
      brianc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEBDT
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream Noise Margin

      Thanks IAmNotTheEnemy,

      But as I said they would not remove the cap hence the statement off to O2.

      Now connected with them from yesterday and downspeed is 7.3Mb, seems stable too and using my own router.

      Any way thanks guys and take care on here.

    7. #6
      xyz's Avatar
      xyz
      xyz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream Noise Margin

      Saturday, could you please tell me if I too am capped?

      My router stats are as follows:-


      System Up Time 1223:32:42
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 17115330 31184355 0 373 47 890:16:26
      LAN 10M/100M 48809327 26994116 0 955 580 1223:32:39
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1422 kbps 409 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 29.9 db
      Noise Margin 27.9 db 23.5 db


      Oh, can you also please explain what being capped is all about? Does it mean that SKY is deliberately slowing down my connection? If so, why? Are they wanting me to upgrade to a more expensive package?

      Who is CST and what is their phone number please? Please also explain how to avoid this "auto regrade" as I sure don't wish to end up with even lower speeds.

      I apologise for being a bit dim but I rarely dip into these forums. The speeds I'm getting are so diabolical that I am forced to look for help.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Downstream Noise Margin

      ^^^^^
      If you are on Connect, you are not capped as such, Sky cannot cap Connect. What is probably happening is that your Profile has been set too low. This could be the result of the proper procedures not being used during the training period, no fault of yours as Sky don't give you that information.

      What you must do is phone Sky and ask to be put through to CST for a BT issue. Once there they will be able to ask BT to check your connection and correct it.

      Before you phone, Go to BT Speedtest enter your phone number then your ADSL username. This will do an official BT speed test and show your present profile. Your ADSL username is <the LAN MAC number of your router, no colons, followed by> @skydsl You can also obtain this from the router by using one of the utilities available on the forum.

      You should be able to use this report when phone Sky, but it will depend on who takes your call as Sky TS do not seem to be trained for Connect customers. This tester is always busy, it could take several attempts to get on.

      The foregoing only applies if you are on Connect, if you are not you are capped, phone Sky and ask them to speed your line up by lifting the cap.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      xyz's Avatar
      xyz
      xyz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01733
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downstream Noise Margin

      Thanks for the speedy response.

      I have a couple of problems with your advice.

      1. How do I find out if I am on Connect? I am on the 5 per month deal for the broadband and I have SKY+ with the max package for the satellite TV. I've just noticed that my profile on the left of this text says I'm on Sky Broadband Connect - is that info reliable? I had no idea I gave such details to this website.

      2. I tried the speedtest on the link you gave. Unfortunately it won't work for me - when I enter my telephone number, I get an error message saying: Authorisation failed Incorrect Telephone Number - please try again.

      I thought the problem may be all the other applications running in the background so I tried again in safe mode but I couldn't get an internet connection (this might be because Norton won't let me do naughty things with no protection)
      Last edited by xyz; 04-09-08 at 02:22 AM. Reason: Add text on Connect.

    10. #9
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Downstream Noise Margin

      2. I tried the speedtest on the link you gave. Unfortunately it won't work for me - when I enter my telephone number, I get an error message saying: Authorisation failed Incorrect Telephone Number - please try again.
      I would have thought that means your not on connect.

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Downstream Noise Margin

      Sounds like Mid.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION