Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Sky and Tiscali LLU...

    This is a discussion on Sky and Tiscali LLU... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I am new to the forums so bare with me I currently have Tiscali BB and Line Rental, ...

    1. #1
      jid's Avatar
      jid
      jid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bridgend
      Broadband ISP: Tiscali
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky and Tiscali LLU...

      Hi All,

      I am new to the forums so bare with me

      I currently have Tiscali BB and Line Rental, and I can't stick it any longer

      Do Sky support LLU MAC codes to go to their Broadband Max package or would I have to take Sky Broadband and Talk Line rental as well?

      Many Thanks

      Jamie
      Last edited by jid; 19-08-08 at 03:00 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jid's Avatar
      jid
      jid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bridgend
      Broadband ISP: Tiscali
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and Tiscali LLU...

      Anyone?
      Regards

      Jamie


      (Tiscali LLU 8meg ; Sync: 7872kbps ; Attenuation: 30dB)

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky and Tiscali LLU...

      Moved to busier forum for help




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky and Tiscali LLU...

      Have you got the MAC from Tiscali? If so try ordering Sky Broadband and see what happens?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky and Tiscali LLU...

      you HAVE to have line rental with BT or Sky for Sky BB...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky and Tiscali LLU...

      you HAVE to have line rental with BT or Sky for Sky BB...
      I don't think that is quite correct. Provided you are not with a LLU supplier and have a BT compatible line, it does not matter who your rental is with. As far as the OP is concerned, it will depend on whether his line has been unbundled. As far as I can gather Tiscali provide both types of rental and have been heavily criticised for unbundling lines without the users consent. They maintain that they have this right if they are collecting the line rental.

      The best way to find out would be to try a line check for availability with the BT or Sky. If it gives a non-compatiblle result it is probably LLU.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      jid's Avatar
      jid
      jid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bridgend
      Broadband ISP: Tiscali
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and Tiscali LLU...

      Hi all,

      Thanks for your replies.

      I am on Tiscali LLU as I have their Line Rental.

      I requested to go on their Talk and Bband package back in May, as I have been with Tiscali for 6years.

      NR, I don't think Tiscali will give a MAC as they have my line. Which was why I came here, does anyone know is Sky excepts LLUMac codes?

      Thanks
      Regards

      Jamie


      (Tiscali LLU 8meg ; Sync: 7872kbps ; Attenuation: 30dB)

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky and Tiscali LLU...

      I don't think Tiscali will give a MAC as they have my line.
      An ISP cannot refuse to give you a MAC and they must supply it within 5 days of it being requested.

      You problem is likely to be that as your phone line has been unbundled it will no longer be 'BT Compatible' which it must be to get Sky Broadband. I think you will have to return your line to BT before you will qualify. It may possible for you to transfer it direct to Sky, but I am not sure about this. You would have to phone Sky and explain the position.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      jid's Avatar
      jid
      jid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bridgend
      Broadband ISP: Tiscali
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and Tiscali LLU...

      I will ring up Sky later and ask them about it.

      How is their Line Rental service? Is it any good?
      Regards

      Jamie


      (Tiscali LLU 8meg ; Sync: 7872kbps ; Attenuation: 30dB)

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky and Tiscali LLU...

      calls to tech are free if you're on SkyTalk (regardless of line rental) so that alone should sway it!! lol...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION